Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

W. L. Green Memorial and Baldwin County
Sacred Harp Convention (Cooper Edition)

Church of Christ Fellowship Hall, Bay Minette, Alabama

January 21-22, 2012

Saturday, January 21

The W.L. “Bill” Green Memorial/Baldwin County Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Bill Hogan leading 101t. He then gave a warm welcome to all in attendance, and led 36b. The opening prayer was offered by Roberta Strauss.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 558; J.A. Mosley 572; Alice Mosley 484; Nate Green and Norma Green 95b; Mary Whitehurst 145t; Roberta Strauss 218; Nancy Hogan 145b; B. M Smith 559; Henry McGuire 464; Bill Kelley 100; Joan Aldridge 84; Henry Johnson 426b; Aubrey Barfield 230; Judy Caudle 478; Leigh Cooper 163b; Karen Rollins 136; Susan Cherones 392 (in memory of John Merritt); Tim Jones 120; Karen Willard 91; Adrian Nall 235.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairmen—J.A. Mosley and Rodney Ivey; Chaplain—Roberta Strauss; Secretaries/Arranging Committee—Nancy Hogan and Mary Whitehurst; Memorial Committee—Cheryl Foreman and Morgan Bunch.


The class was brought back to order by Rodney Ivey leading 384. Leaders: Jesse P. Karlsberg 133; Tim Taylor 102; Paul Figura “Higher Ground” (composition by and in memory of John Merritt); Ken Kelley 404; Aurora Crook 388; David Ivey 416; Tommie Spurlock 376; Sue Bunch 293b; Judy Chambless 512; Richard Ivey 210; Sharon DuPriest 229; Daphene Causey 501; Morgan Bunch 428; Sonny Erwin 511t; Stanley Smith 225t.

The Chairman recognized Hugh McGraw, who asked members of the Bill Green family to join him in the square. Family members in attendance were Mrs. Beufa Green, Jenny Whitworth, Nate Green, Ricky Green, and Randy Green. Hugh told of Mr. Green’s contributions to Sacred Harp in relocating the book company from Alabama to Georgia. Mr. McGraw presented a plaque from the Sacred Harp Publishing Company to Mrs. Beufa Green. Bill Hogan led 380t, which was written by Bill Green.

Leaders: Bridgett Kennedy 450; Kelsey Sunderland 567; Martha Beverly 140; Mark Godfrey 47b.

Bill Hogan recognized Cleo Murphy and the Southeast District Vocal Choir from Mobile, Alabama, (Cleo Murphy, Mary Murphy, Hester Gray, Mary Lucy, Sandra Steward, Annie Mae Smith, Terris Dillard, Willie Steele, and Edward Mitchell) who sang “Heaven on My Mind” and “I’ll Tell the World”. The class sang 369, and Roberta Strauss offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was opened by Bill Hogan leading 96. The Chairman thanked everyone for the wonderful lunch, and announced that cards were available to sign for the sick and shut-ins. Leaders: Shannon Guinn 220; Reba Windham 505; Stuart Ivey 522; Jeff Sheppard 497; Shirley Figura 67; Charlene Wallace 277; Karen Ivey 500; Lloyd Jones 463; Loretta Jones 138t; Sarah Beasley 519; Cheryl Foreman 30b; Ed Bass 447t; Scott Ivey 98; Lauren Bock 477; Robert Chambless 72; Kevin Dyess 63; Rick Foreman 108b; Voncille Nall 38t; Mary Amelia Taylor 99; Anne Drexler 282; Charlotte Naylor 186.

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, Rodney Ivey, J.A. Mosley, and Roberta Strauss led 527 as the closing song. Roberta Strauss ended the Saturday session in prayer.

Sunday, January 22

The Sunday morning session was called to order by Bill Hogan leading 29b. After greetings, he gave a short devotional, reading Psalms 105, and then led 32t. Roberta Strauss offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 575; J.A. Mosley 101t; Alice Mosley 343; Nate Green and Norma Green 544; Mary Whitehurst 395b; Roberta Strauss 300; Nancy Hogan 324; Rick Foreman 543b; Voncille Nall 507b; Kevin Dyess 142; Robert Chambless 405; Anne Drexler 87; Henry McGuire 518; Lauren Bock 524; Ken Kelley and Will Kelley 434; Eva Padgett 47b; Ann Fox 500; Scott Ivey 443b.


Bill Hogan brought the class back to order by leading 494. Leaders: Reba Windham 559; Cheryl Foreman 470; Kristen Kelley, Ken Kelley, and Will Kelley 573; Sarah Beasley 380t; Loretta Jones 285t; Lloyd Jones 45t; Karen Ivey 410; Shirley Figura 122; Stuart Ivey 361; Mark Godfrey 65; Martha Beverly 39; Kelsey Sunderland 137; Stanley Smith 200; Sonny Erwin 488t; Morgan Bunch 168; Judy Chambless 367; Richard Ivey 54t; Karen Willard 486.

Cheryl Foreman and Morgan Bunch conducted the memorial lesson. Morgan Bunch spoke for the sick and shut-ins. He commented on our web of connection to the people on the list, and noted how he felt the support of this connection personally during his surgery last year. He read Psalms 6:1-4. Those on the sick and shut-ins list are as follows: Jim Helke, Bud Oliver, Martha Jane Fowler, Lonnie Rogers, Juanita Hill, Wilburn Ellison, Leara Ellison, Faye Jones, Curtis Owen, and Edith Owen. Morgan led 465.

Cheryl Foreman spoke for the deceased. She commented how we remember these with sorrow and joy. Those who have gone before have served to mentor us both in the music as well as the traditions of Sacred Harp. Those of us who were drawn to Sacred Harp initially by the music, soon realized that we are continually drawn by the fellowships we develop. Each on the list of the deceased has influenced all of us. She led 288 in memory of the following deceased: John Merritt, Travis Keeton, Marie Ivey, Ernestine Pipkin, Melvin Stiefel, and Wayne Morgan—Alabama; Becky Schieldman—Illinois; John Shippee—Georgia; Bob Meek—Kentucky. Roberta Strauss closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Susan Cherones 571; Bill Aplin and Vicki Aplin 567; David Ivey 491; Becky Briggs 377t; Sue Bunch 268b; Paul Figura 46. The class sang 369, and Roberta Strauss gave the blessing for the noon meal.


The class was called back to order for the afternoon session by Bill Hogan leading 290. Leaders: Tim Jones 461; Jesse P. Karlsberg 357; Sharon DuPriest 222; Tommie Spurlock 99; Adrian Nall 393; Leigh Cooper 464; Judy Caudle 86; Aubrey Barfield 365; Henry Johnson 426t; Cheyenne Ivey 77t; Bill Kelley 442t; Paul Figura and Shirley Figura 73t (in honor of Bud Oliver); Bridgett Kennedy 30b; Rick Foreman and Cheryl Foreman 276; Anne Drexler and Roberta Strauss 146; Bill Beverly and Martha Beverly 511b; Sonny Erwin and Judy Caudle 344; Karen Willard, Tracy Warner, and Tom Willard 505; Kelsey Sunderland and Richard Ivey 297; Kevin Dyess and Bobbie Maud Meacham 274t.

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, Nancy Hogan, Rodney Ivey, J.A. Mosley, Alice Mosley, Nate Green, Norma Green, and Roberta Strauss led 323t. Roberta Strauss offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairmen—J.A. Mosley and Rodney Ivey; Secretaries—Nancy Hogan and Mary Whitehurst