Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B. F. White Sacred Harp Singing Convention (1911 J. L. White Revision)

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Sunday, September 18, 2011

The class was brought to order by the Chairman, John Plunkett, who led 59. John Hollingsworth offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: John Plunkett 34t ; Russ Hanson 61; Sandra Wilkinson 484t; Malinda Snow 35; John Hollingsworth 480t; Carol Hanson 544t; Charles Woods 546b; Nathan Rees 292b (for Rodney Ivey); Molly Ellis 331b; Billy Hollingsworth 487t; Kathy Smith 159; Martha Ann Stegar 507; Leigh Cooper 38t; Blake Sisemore 91t; Mary Brownlee 280; Helen Bryson 526; Johnathan Wood 519.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary/Treasurer—Sandra Wilkinson.


Russ Hanson brought the class to order by leading 101t. Leaders: Mark Godfrey 547t; Henry Johnson 495; Lela Crowder 491b; Margie Dietz 72b; Eddie Mash 484b; Oscar McGuire 522; Laura Akerman 512; Robert Kelley 504; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 97; Wesley Haley 94; Sarah Kahre 517; Tom Hanson 299; David Brodeur 37t; Rita Haley 63; Jonathon Smith 153; Raymond Hamrick 490b; Molly Ellis 458; Sharon Hamrick 276. Charles Woods offered prayer for the noon meal at the lunch table.


The afternoon session was brought to order by John Plunkett leading 368t. Leaders: Malinda Snow 27; Leigh Cooper 523; Andy Morse 480b; Laura Akerman 277; Matt Hinton 34b; Henry Slack 181; Jesse Roberts 120; Eddie Mash 382b; Judy Mincey 126.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg. He led 444t for the following sick and shut-ins: Nick Griffin, Carlene Griffin, Ben Leavelle, Lula Bradford, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Lonnie Rogers, and Ellie Soler.

Jesse spoke and led 275b in memory of the following deceased: Marie Ivey, Ernestine Pipkin, Myrtle Wootten, and Travis Keeton—Alabama; Bob Meek—Kentucky; Emily Calhoun and Robert Cook—Georgia; Sammy Harlan, John Bradford-Smith, and Roy Morse. The memorial was concluded with prayer by Blake Sisemore.

Leaders: Nathan Rees 271b; Erica Hinton 499t; Blake Sisemore 67; Bob Goodman 60; Sarah Kahre 511; Betty Harber 491t.


The class was brought to order by Russ Hanson leading 282. Leaders: Johnathan Wood 405; Anna Hinton 300; Sandra Wilkinson 274t; Henry Johnson 394; Mary Brownlee 151; Mark Godfrey 37b; Jonathon Smith 83b; Helen Bryson 317b; David Brodeur 144; Janet Wuichut 546t; Oscar McGuire 486t; Margie Dietz 48b; Billy Hollingsworth 138t; Tom Hanson 387; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 132.

Following announcements, John Plunkett led 389t for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Jesse Roberts.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson