Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Florida State Convention (Cooper Book)

Holiday Inn, Panama City, Florida

December 1-2, 2007

Saturday, December 1

The 40th session of the Florida State Convention was called to order by John Etheridge leading 52t. The opening prayer was offered by Russ Scholz.

Leaders: John Etheridge 54t; Tim Jones 461, 63; Victoria Aplin 421; Jewell Rowland 143; Aubrey Barfield 464, 306; Robert Chambless 72; Wayne Jones 60, 505; Lee Rogers 267t, 575; Bud Oliver 145t, 145b; Barbara Jones 410, 511t; Linton Ballinger 144, 146; Janet King 82, 148.


The class was brought together by John Etheridge leading 278t. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 507b, 497; Bobbie Goodell 40, 463; Frank Strickland 100, 367; Geraldine Sharpton 393t; Velton Chafin 355; Sue Bunch 511b; Leon Ballinger 239; Connie Stanton 171; Mark Brown 559; Nancy Van Den Akker 285t.


Tim Jones brought the class to order leading 225t. Leaders; Mike Jones 553; Reba Windom 573; Nate Green and Norma Green 244, 98; Shelbie Sheppard 290; Fran Hataway 243t; Judy Chambless 274t; Paul King 395b; Sara Pietrantoni 127; Russ Scholz 380t; Judy Mincey 273; Billy Kelley 478; Rochelle Wright 282; John Etheridge 369. Mark Brown offered grace before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Stanley Smith leading 270. Leaders: James Gardner 368b; Kathy Folsom 508; Morgan Bunch 203; Chip Westbrook 336t; Sharon DuPriest 229; Tommie Spurlock 340; Mary Whitehurst 268t; Ben Smith 222; Linda Westbrook 344; Ernest Cockcroft 77t; Janice Gardner 488b; Juanita Hill 84; Margaret Spurlock 112; Ernestine Pipkin 110; Loretta Jones 138t.


Tim Jones brought the class back together leading 120. Leaders; Geraldine Sharpton 276; Mark Brown “Beulah Land”; Velton Chafin 373; J.C. Rutledge 501; Leon Ballinger 280; Connie Stanton 199; Stanley Smith 572; Nancy Van Dan Akker 336b; Mike Jones 435; Reba Windom 571; Nate Green and Norma Green 33; Frank Hataway 32t; Judy Chambless 32b; Paul King 133; Sara Pietrantoni 405; Judy Mincey 140; Faye Ramer 563.

John Etheridge led 356 as the closing song. Prayer was offered, and the singing was closed for the day.

Sunday, December 2

The Convention was called to order by John Etheridge leading 164. The opening prayer was offered by Tim Jones.

Leaders: John Etheridge 101t; Tim Jones 436t, 553; Jewell Rowland 391; Victoria Aplin 421; Aubrey Barfield 202, 522; Bud Oliver 73t; Geraldine Sharpton 508; Morgan Bunch 430; Judy Chambless 32t, 141; Bill Aplin 94, 567; Bobbie Goodell 218, 38t; J.C. Rutledge 509; Sara Pietrantoni 45t; Velton Chafin 371, 464.


The singing continued with Tim Jones leading 497. Leaders: Judy Mincey 494, 54t; Leon Ballinger 137, 424; Lee Rogers 210.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Victoria Aplin and Tim Jones. Victoria Aplin spoke for the deceased and Tim Jones read the names of those who passed away this year, then led 465 in their memory.

The names of the sick and shut-ins were read and 400 was led in their honor. Paul King closed the session with prayer.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 475; Connie Stanton 559, 198; Linton Ballinger 306; Nancy Van Dan Akker 394, 328. John Etheridge said a few words about Bud Oliver’s birthday and Bud led 377t. The class sang 369, and Tommie Spurlock offered grace before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Tim Jones leading 139. Leaders: Nate Green and Norma Green 41; Adrian Nall and Voncile Graves 47b, 393b; Frank Strickland 488t, 478; Genny Whitworth 170; Russ Scholz 313; Sue Bunch 138t, 381t; Billy Kelley 442t, 491; Barbara Jones 72; Mike Jones 76b; Mary Whitehurst 384, 383 (by request); Ben Smith 192, 517; Wayne Jones 470; Stanley Smith 348t, 288; Tommie Spurlock 183; Juanita Hill 274t; Margaret Spurlock 268t; Geraldine Sharpton 47t.

The officers for 2008 were appointed, and those who served this year were thanked for their contributions to help make this singing a success. Those appointed are as follows: Chairman—Stanley Smith; 1st Vice Chairman—Tim Jones; 2nd Vice Chairman—Linton Ballinger.

Announcements were made, and the class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—John Etheridge; 1st Vice Chairman—Stanley Smith; 2nd Vice Chairman—Tim Jones; Secretary—Jewell Rowland