Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Minnesota State Midwinter Convention
(Cooper Book)

All Saints Indian Mission Church, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Saturday, February 12, 2005

The sixth Minnesota State Midwinter Cooper Book Convention was called to order by Chairman Steven Schmidgall leading 571. Kim Bahmer offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Steven Schmidgall; Corresponding Secretary—Jim Pfau; Recording Secretary—Stephen Parker; Treasurer—Matt Wells.

Leaders: Keith Willard 416t; Jim Pfau 491; Stephen Parker 171; Matt Wells 140; Stacy Berkheimer 489; Paul Wyatt 336b; Paul Wilson 53; Guy Bankes 507b; Gordon Olsen 47t; Mirjana Lausevic 277; Kathy Kaiser 500; Denise Kania 559; Christine Stevens 573; Syble Adams and her daughter, Rhonda Arnold 505; Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, Arlene Strickland and her daughter, Kendra 569.


Matt Wells brought the class back to order leading 68t. Leaders: Michael Moore “Savoy”; Steve Luttinen 383; Eleanor Haase 575; Dick Dunagan 128; Kim Bahmer 203; Laura Densmore 98; Martha Henderson 502; Claudia Egelhoff 137; Val Dunagan 63; Jim Helke 45b; Val Eng 216; Alan Weeks 276; Ramona Lee 84; Tim Eriksen 133; Arlene Strickland 336t; Steven Levine 516; Ros Clements 107; Steven Schmidgall 391.


Paul Wyatt brought the class back leading 36b. Leaders: Jim Goetz 225t; Paul Figura 448 (in memory of two truck drivers, David Grundmeier, 53, and Eric Swenson, 24, who were killed in a crash in front of them as they were driving to the convention); Johnny Lee 568 (for Jeff Bell. who was feeling ill); Cathy Lutz 282; Kit Pfau 129; Midge Olsen 478; Tollie Lee, 511t. Johnny Lee offered prayer for the noon meal.


Tim Eriksen led 138t to bring the class back to order for the afternoon session. Leaders: Scott Schroeder 99; Doug Donley 424; Matt Wells 163t; Guy Bankes 410; Kathy Wallace 77t; Christine Stevens 544; Cathy Lutz and five University of St. Thomas students 218; Mirjana Lausevic 270; Ramona Lee 422b; Kim Bahmer 274t; Bill Waddington 385t; Joan Blair 291; Kit Pfau 411; Alan Weeks 142; Laura Densmore 574; Stephen Parker 511b; Johnny Lee 509; Tim Eriksen 243b.


Stephen Parker brought the class back to order leading 49b. Leaders: Aubrey Hemminger 508; Paul Figura 449; Arlene Strickland 159; Ros Clements 287; Martha Henderson 486; Paul Wyatt 427; Tollie Lee 38t; Val Eng 419; Jenny Willard 367; Steven Levine 229; Syble Adams and Rhonda Arnold 393t.

Matt Wells reported that enough monies had been received to meet convention expenses.

Singers came from nine states: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin; the Province of Manitoba, Canada; and the United Kingdom. Ninety leaders led seventy-two songs.

Announcements were made. Next Year’s convention will be held February 11, 2006.

Steven Schmidgall led 488t as the closing song. Tollie Lee offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Steven Schmidgall; Corresponding Secretary—Jim Pfau; Recording Secretary—Stephen Parker.