Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rotunda Singing

Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama

Saturday, February 1, 2020

The 23rd annual session of the Rotunda Singing was held in the foyer of the Department of Archives and History. Four songbooks were used: The Colored Sacred Harp, The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Edition, The Christian Harmony, and The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition.

The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. The class was called to order by Bill Hogan leading 51. He made opening remarks of welcome, and thanks to the Department of Archives and the Alabama Folklife Association for hosting the singing. Joey Brackner of the State Arts Council offered words of welcome. Bill Hogan led 87. Hubert Nall offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Mary Huffman 34b; Jim Carnes 171; Ann Riley 142; Winfred Kerr 36b; Mary Amelia Taylor 28b; Hubert Nall 119; Judy Caudle 432; Stephen Huffman 131b; Chris Nicholson 313b; Cassie Allen 196.

The Christian Harmony. Leaders: Danny Creel 54; Katlin Bailey 362; Tim Taylor 417b; Nancy Hogan 493b; Rodney Ivey 235; Arlon Gardner 144t; Cindy Tanner 322; Gary Padgett 138; Steve Grauberger 143; Ann Jett 149.


The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Edition. Leaders: Bill Hogan 464; Jack Nelson 514 (in memory of his sister Betty Culver and Eugene Forbes); Alice Sundberg 275t; Will Gatewood 410; Frank Strickland and Fred Flowers 100; Beth Branscome 505; Thomas Smith 587; Tommy Spurlock 183; Ken Sundberg 213; Karen Clark 430 (in memory of Sonny Erwin); Chris Parris 421; Judy Caudle 567; David Ivey 497; Chris Nicholson 558; Stanley Smith 541; Cassie Allen 242; Hubert Nall 572.

The Colored Sacred Harp. Leaders: Samuel Sommers 65b; Jim Carnes 24; Mary Amelia Taylor 12; Steve Grauberger 18; Ken Sundberg 22b; Karen Clark 30b; David Ivey 3; Stanley Smith 87. Herbert Buchannan, Willie Holley, Bill Hogan, and Nancy Hogan led “Give Me Just a Little More Time.” Jim Carnes offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Leaders: Bill Hogan 564; Beth Branscome 456; Joey Brackner 361; Chris Parris 454; Samuel Sommers 386; Rodney Ivey 222; Danny Creel 182; Tim Taylor 228; Arlon Gardner, Samantha Gardner, and Sophia Gardner 505; Katlin Bailey 178; Cindy Tanner and Jim Carnes 436; Gary Padgett 186; Ann Jett 546; Jack Nelson 560; Stephen Huffman 442.

The Christian Harmony. Leaders: Chris Nicholson 490; Cassie Allen 176; Karen Clark 168b; Stanley Smith 64; Mary Amelia Taylor 299; Steve Grauberger 337; Judy Caudle 338b; Beth Branscome 36b; Jim Carnes and Erin Carnes 133; Samuel Sommers 20; Bill Hogan 172; Jack Nelson and Ken Milner 117; Stephen Huffman 307; Chris Parris and Bill Hogan 131; Danny Creel 326; Katlin Bailey 268; Gary Padgett 349; Cindy Tanner 93.

The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Edition. Leaders: Thomas Smith 328; Winfred Kerr 594 (for Rebecca Over); Joey Brackner 274t; Ann Riley 132; Stanley Smith 504t (in memory of Joe Nall).

Following announcements, Bill Hogan, Nancy Hogan, Mary Huffman, and Stephen Huffman led 369. Bill led the Lord’s Prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairmen—Joey Brackner and Stephen Huffman; Secretary—Nancy Hogan