Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shady Grove Baptist Church (Cooper Book)

Dutton, Alabama

Saturday, October 5, 2013

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Shady Grove Baptist Church, Dutton, Alabama, on Saturday before the first Sunday in October was called to order by Syble Adams and Mark Brown leading 293b. The opening prayer was offered by Bro. Ben Barrentine.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Mark Brown; Vice Chairman—Syble Adams; Secretary—Darlene Dalton; Arranging Officer—Henry Schuman.

Leaders: Mark Brown 76b; Syble Adams 478; Darlene Dalton 309; Paula Oliver 137; Holly Hauck 392; Samuel Sommers 279; Kathy Manning 393; Ed Thacker 39; Karen Rollins 397; Ron Harper 559; Sharon Kermiet 553; Ken Sundberg 48b; Gillian Inksetter 311; Nathan Rees 286b; Nate Green and Norma Green 30t; Tammy Powell 189; Bill Beverly 41; Susan Cherones 300; Phil Summerlin 96; Angela Myers 464; Jeb Owen 138t; Bea Aaron 112; Matthew Lind 145b.


Mark Brown led 418 to bring the class together. Leaders: Ricky Harcrow 434; Isaac Lloyd, Gideon Lloyd, and Ezra Lloyd 38t, 571; Karen Bahler 572; Dennis George 98; Rick Foreman 35; Alice Sundberg 580; Stephen Hoyt 587; Tom George 378b; Pam Wilkerson 505; Brad Bahler 541; Janie Short 196.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Syble Adams and Mark Brown. Mark spoke and read the following list of sick and shut-ins: Johnny Lee, Delores Lee, S.T. Reed, John Shaeffer; Claudene Townson, Steve Townson, Phillip Wootten, Betty Wright, Olivia Allen, Loraine Bayer, and Carroll Lundsford.

Syble spoke and read the following list of names of the deceased: Ralph Brown, Gerald Ivey, Josie Hyde, Bud Oliver, Lessie Reed, Earl Bradshaw, Jeff Sheppard, Kelly Day, Marjorie Sommers, Eva Padgett, Rusty Bearden, Evelyn Steinruck, and Anthony Blevins. Syble and Mark led “When All of God’s Singers Get Home”. The memorial service was closed with prayer.

Leaders: Eloise Wootten and Shane Wootten 515; Sonny Erwin 430; Elyssa Lloyd 148; Scott Ivey 380t; Betty Ellis, Joan Wilks, Charlotte Heard, and Jean Clingigan 159; Sonny Huckaby 450; Daniel Wooten 518.


The afternoon session began with Syble Adams leading 421. Leaders: Margaret Thacker 451; Coy Ivey 465; Martha Beverly 591; Elizabeth Barlow 31t; Tom Owen 442t; Stephen Smith 79; Cary Ann Wilkerson 60; Rodney Ivey 552 (in memory of John Etheridge); Carolyn Bullock 511t; James Nelson Gingrich 422b; Cheryl Foreman 140; David Ivey 416t; Laura Densmore 482; Henry Johnson 154t; Tommie Spurlock 299; Barbara Hohenstein 292b; Loyd Ivey 540; Loretta Smith, Sandy Ivey, and Loyd Ivey 511b; Rex Wilks 398; Ronda Arnold 573; Stanley Smith 522; Karen Clark 514; Will Fitzgerald and Bess Fitzgerald 411; Judy Caudle 567; Shane Wootten 535t (in memory of Bud Oliver); Jeff Adcock 563; Jeff Adcock and Syble Adams 543.

Syble Adams and Darlene Dalton led 312 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Mark Brown; Vice Chairman—Syble Adams; Secretary—Darlene Dalton