Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mississippi Cooper Book Convention

Mt. Olive Primitive Baptist Church, Morton, Mississippi

October 23, 1999

The annual Mississippi Cooper Book Convention was held at Mt. Olive Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Chairman John Merritt leading song on page 36b. The morning prayer was led by Dr. Jim Fields.

The class held a business meeting with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Merritt; Vice Chairman—Andrew Albers; Secretary—Jean Gray; Arranging Committee—Nancy Van den Akker.

Leaders: Andrew Albers 166b; Regina Glass 536; Jean Gray 154b, 108t; Jim Fields 58, 75; Don Clark 171, 186; John Etheridge 545, 300; Brenda Merritt 142; Nancy Van den Akker 440b, 319; Tommy George 348t; Bill Hogan 184b (for Bill Green), 445b; Kari Lundgren 268t, 40.


The class was called back to order by Jarrod George and John Merritt leading song on page 76b. Leaders: Dennis George and Jarrod George 137, 392; Ginnie Fields 45t, 63; Charles Franklin 176t, 146; John Lee Van Horn 140, 263; Kate Merritt 168, 543b; Tim Gray 559, 192; A.E. Probst 575, 239; Warren Steel 489, “Pilgrim” (by Lazarus Jones); John Kanode 507b, 571.

A memorial lesson was conducted by John Merritt. The deceased remembered were: Gaither Jones, Louise Probst, Louise Hogan, and Durward Scarborough. “Christian Song” was led by Tim Gray in memory of his uncle, Durward Scarborough. Don Clark led “Nettie” (by Bill Green) for Robert Todd and others who were sick and shut-in. Hilton Jones (by request) led 103t from the Old School Hymnal in memory of his father, Gaither Jones. Dennis George led “Beulah Land”. Elder Walter Blair closed the memorial lesson with prayer.


The afternoon of singing began with Jarrod George leading songs on pages 358 and 145b. Leaders: Arlon Gardener 422b, 522; Theresa Hood 199, 572 (in memory of her mother); Dan Coit 128; John Merritt “Delusion”; Mark Davis 54 and 497; John L. Van Horn 378t, 45b; Walter Blair 174 (Old School Hymnal); Jim Fields 372 (Old School Hymnal); Bill Hogan 499; Haley Gray and Tim Gray 388; Warren Steel 395b, 422t; John Merritt 263 (Old School Hymnal); A.E. Probst 270.

Andrew Albers led song on page 500 as the closing song. Arlon Gardener dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—John Merritt; Vice Chairman—Andrew Albers; Secretary—Jean Gray.