Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rock Creek-Mountain Home and
Ryan Creek Convention

Masonic Hall, Crane Hill, Alabama

August 14, 1999

The one hundred-third session of the Rock Creek-Mountain Home and the one hundred twenty-sixth session of the Ryan Creek Convention was convened at the Masonic Hall, Crane Hill, Cullman County, Alabama.

Billy Williams opened the convention leading song on page 33b. Elder J.L. Hopper, serving as Chaplain, gave a reading from Job 38th chapter, and spoke about mankind’s use of music to worship throughout history. We gather here today to praise the Lord and to keep this type of singing alive.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Billy Williams; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson; Arranging Committee—Billy Williams; Finance Committee—David Roberson; Locating Committee—Marie Guthrie and Everett Kilgore; Chaplain—Elder J.L. Hopper; Memorial Committee—Marie Guthrie and Elsie Moon. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Billy Williams 39b; Elvin Guthrie 73b, 129; Corene White 73t, 146; Elsie Moon 566, 283; Everett Kilgore 192; Gene Wakefield 100, 103; Velton Chafin 225t, 34b; Pernie Pelfrey 399 (t? b?), 74b; Edith Tate 76b, 212; John Hocutt 144; Elder J.L. Hopper 189, 162.


Harrison Creel called the class to order leading song on page 30t. Leaders: Odie Horton 81t, 37b; Marie Guthrie 35, 434; Flarce Creel 270, 475; David Roberson 340, 63; Reedie Powell 384, 369.

The Memorial Committee presented the memorial lesson. We the singers offer another memorial session to honor our friends and loved ones who have passed away since we last met. The list of deceased are: Essie Calvert, B.B. Mattox, Cecil Gilliland, Ralph Heath, J.L. Oden, Alta Self, Bertha Adams, and Sarah McCool. Velton Chafin led song on page 153 for the deceased.

The names of the sick and shut-ins are: Lela Crider, Callie Beasley, Nora Baker, Thurman Nall, Stella Stricklin, Minnie Stricklin, Mary Gardner, Hubert Cobb, Mary Oden, Runman Graves, and Ivalene Donaldson. Elsie Moon led song on page 454 for the sick and shut-ins. Elder J.L. Hopper led song on page 340 and closed the memorial session with prayer.

Euel Freeman led songs on pages 145t and 37t, followed by Eron White leading song on page 186.


John Merritt called the afternoon session to order leading song on page 104. Leaders: Eldagene Roberson 349, 306; Ann Ballard 319; Brenda Pena 77b, 49 (t? b?); Brenda Merritt 176 (t? b?), 386; John Merritt 503 (for Thurman Nall who was unable to attend); John Hocutt 354 (t? b?); Everett Kilgore 40; John Calvert 335, 100; Elder J.L. Hopper 24b, 412; Harrison Creel 512; Velton Chafin 32 (t? b?); Brenda Pena 460; John Merritt 124.

The Locating Committee reported that there were no calls for the convention, so it will be held back at the Masonic Lodge, Crane Hill, Alabama next year.

Announcements were made. Billy Williams led song on page 62 as the closing song. Elder J.L. Hopper dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Billy Williams; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson.