Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Community Center, Henderson, Texas

August 7-8, 1999

Saturday, August 7

The one hundred thirty-second session of the East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Community Center in Henderson, Texas on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order by John Morris leading song on page 335. Gaylon Powell led the morning prayer.

Leaders: Marion Grant 168; Emmie Morris 182; Sam Craig 57; Al Rogers 505; Doris Hanks 384; Frank Hataway 343b; Baron Powers 85; Aubrey Barfield 567; Charles Whitmer 575; John Kanode 571; Brenda Merritt 559; Sue Fairbanks 59; Kelly Beard 470; Vivian Rogan 507b; Kellon Campbell 345t; Victoria Aplin 360; John Merritt 240; Amanda Owen 142; Avon Miller 214; Charlene Wallace 99; Michele Rogan 522; Stanley Smith 513t; H.P. O’Mary 47b; Owen Ross 361; Leon Ballinger 335; Reed Coates 112; Velton Chafin 197; Robert Handel 268b.


The class was brought to order by Jeb Owen leading song on page 213. Leaders: John Etheridge 86; A.A. Smith, Jr. 383; Albano Alban 455b; Eva Padgett 220; John Beard 290; Tommie Spurlock 196; Tom Owen 395t; Ernestine Pipkin 497; Bill Aplin 222; Liz Rogan 203; Carlene Griffin 171; Olivia Powell 128; Nellie Alexander 82; Monnie Ross 49t; Ellen Strayhorn 36b; Gaylon Powell 450; Myrl Jones 183. Curtis Owen offered prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by John Morris leading song on page 174. Leaders: Edith Owen 410; Bruce Coates 312; Kevin Powell 193; Josh Rogan 216; Donald Ross 101b; David Rousseau 341; Cissy Moseley 299; Sarah Coates 192; Scott Curon 186; Pauline Willis 572; Catherine Rogan 393t; David Moseley 198; Curtis Owen 313; Zack Rogan 280; Margaret Rounsavall 137; Diane Ross 200; Mary Bachmann 563; Katie Moseley 434; Gary Rogan 329.


The class was brought to order by Donald Ross leading song on page 76b. Leaders: Dale Redmon, Jr. 540; Jeb Owen 270; Myra Palmer 414b; Beverly Coates 442t; Mike Moseley 104; Aubrey Barfield 276; Brenda Merritt 217; John Etheridge 552; Eva Padgett 98; Velton Chafin 225t; Tommie Spurlock 574; Charlene Wallace 40; John Merritt 392; Brenda Merritt 69. We were honored to have Albano Alban from Ecuador visiting and singing with us. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Tom Owen.

Sunday, August 8

The Sunday morning session was brought to order by John Morris leading song on page 170. John Merritt offered the morning prayer. Leaders: Al Rogers 63; Frank Hataway 290; Bill Aplin 87; Velton Chafin 336b; Doris Hanks 422b; John Kanode 229; Nellie Alexander 571; Victoria Aplin 508; Jeb Owen 450; John Merritt 455t, 455b; Carlene Griffin 146; Kelly Beard 75; Charlene Wallace 106; Tommie Spurlock 402; Stanley Smith 364; Amanda Owen 411; John Etheridge 285t; Leon Ballinger 332.


The class resumed singing with Kevin Powell leading song on page 543. Leaders: Gaylon Powell 365; Myra Palmer 522; Donald Ross 284; Reed Coates 215; Aubrey Barfield 140; A.A. Smith, Jr. 67; Brenda Merritt 567; Albano Alban 72; Zach Rogan 128; Tom Owen 511b; Michele Rogan 235; Morris Helms 27; D.J. Hatfield 416t; Diane Ross 434; Josh Rogan 300; Edith Owen 47t; Cissy Moseley 276; Curtis Owen 283; Harold Hill 203.

The Memorial Committee: David Rousseau, Mary Craig, and Tommie Spurlock presented the memorial with Mary Craig giving the devotional, and John Etheridge leading song on page 145b for the following deceased: Joe Nelson, Craig Gillihand, Ralph Heath, Elizabeth Rousseau, Richard Daniels, Eva Mae Monk, Essie Leopard, and Gather Jones. John Morris and Tommie Spurlock led song on page 574. The memorial was closed with prayer led by Robert Vaughn.


The afternoon of singing began with John Etheridge leading song on page 278. Leaders: Sarah Coates 395t; Bill Mansel 348t; Robert Handel 50t; Gary Rogan 54t; Mary Bachmann 478; Katie Moseley 192; Robert Vaughn 324; Vivian Rogan 159; Ernestine Pipkin 331b; Ellen Strayhorn 32t; Liz Rogan 150; Scott Curon 142; Dale Redmon, Jr. 507b; Olivia Powell 168; Monnie Ross 108b; David Rousseau 179; Catherine Rogan 293b; Sam Craig 395b; Mike Moseley 511b; Sue Fairbanks 232b.


John Etheridge brought the class to order leading song on page 28t. Leaders: David Moseley 186; Terry Schill 536; Jeb Owen 559; Kevin Powell 532; Emmie Morris 186; D.J. Hatfield 218; Bill Aplin 376; Kelly Beard 398b; Ellen Strayhorn 40; Josh Rogan 110.

Donald Ross led song on page 49 as the closing song with the class taking the parting hand. Donald Ross dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairmen—John Morris and Emmie Morris; Secretary—Marion Grant.