Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Baldwin County Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Bay Minette, Alabama

January 23-24, 1999

The Baldwin County Singing Convention was held in Bay Minette, Alabama on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in January, and was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Chairman Bill Hogan leading song on page 50t. J. A. Mosley, Senior Chairmann, led song on page 341; Secretary Alice Mosley 341. Leaders: Coy Ivey 63; Bobby Jackson 393; Milton Oliver 54; Nate Green and Norma Green 84, 559; Rodney Ivey and Cassie Franklin 186, 511b; Johnny Lee 511t; Elene Stovall 505; Jerry Enright 436b; Leola Smith 185; Mattie Townsel 79; Aubrey Barfield 217.


The class resumed singing with the following leaders called: DeWayne Hawthorne 363; Tim Jones 47t; Horace Nall 501; Genny Whitworth 192; Willie Mosley 92; Emma Mosley 566; Regina Glass 98; Edith Tate 491; Flarce Creel and Cassie Franklin 572; Don Clark 152; John Etheridge 292; Cindy Franklin 39; Bud Oliver 42; Ann Jett and Julianna Jett 146, 108b; Wanda Capps 73; Harrison Creel 355; Beulah Purvis and Wanda Fay Schumock 411, 410; Thurman Nall 447t; Richard Graham 571; Jackie Tanner 101t; Hershell King 522; Karen Freund 272; Penelope Mosley, Jessica Mosley, and J.A. Mosley 45t; Coy Ivey 137; Bill Green and Regina Glass “Morning Light” (a special); Laura Boosinger 441.


Chairman Bill Hogan opened the afternoon session leading song on page 132. Leaders: Milton Oliver 503; Nate Green and Norma Green 567; Rodney Ivey 497; Cassie Franklin 86; Johnny Lee 569; Elene Stovall and Cassie Franklin 222; Jerry Enright 416t; Ann Broadbeck and Regina Glass 435; Leola Smith 573; Mattie Townsel 143; Aubrey Barfield 404; DeWayne Hawthorne 398b; Tim Jones 283; Horace Nall 478; Genny Whitworth 182; Willie Mosley 77; Flarce Creel 299; Don Clark 225t; John Etheridge 47b; Cindy Franklin, Ann Jett, and Wanda Capps 200, 515; Harrison Creel 395; Beulah Mae Purvis and Wanda Fay Schumock 440b. Bill Hogan led song on page 527 as the closing song, and dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, January 24

Chairman Bill Hogan opened the Sunday session with songs on pages 57 and 45t. Aubrey Barfield led the opening prayer. Co-Chairman J. A. Mosley led song on page 60; Secretary Alice Mosley 484. Leaders: Jackie Tanner 54; Hershell King 572, 204; Thurman Nall 276; Bill Green 475; Bill Aplin 106, 224; Bobby Jackson 388, 72; Aubrey Barfield 365, 394; Susan Munch 65; Regina Glass 133, 314; Milton Oliver 505.


The singing resumed with the following leaders called: Vickie Aplin 411; Norma Green and Nate Green 455t; Johnny Lee 509; Winston Jones 447b, 47b; Willie Mosley 453b; Leola Smith 442t; Ann Jett and Julianna Jett 503, 108; Bud Oliver 201b, 29t; Coy Ivey 449; Elene Stovall 217, 192; Jerry Enright 216, 77t; Mattie Townsel 196; Rodney Ivey 507t, 559, 392.


J. A. Mosley called the class to order leading song on page 282. Leaders: Christine Gandy 319, 330; Mike Jones 385t, 395b; Edith Tate 73t, 48t; Tommy Spurlock 222, 183; Harrison Creel 381t; Flarce Creel 384.

Cindy Franklin and Johnny Lee gave our Memorial Lesson. Johnny Lee gave a meaningful talk for the sick, shut-ins, and deceased. He spoke of the love we have for these people and for each other, and quoted the shortest verse in the Bible, “Jesus wept”. He stated that this was not just the shortest verse, but the biggest verse. During his talk, he stopped and led song on page 271. To close his portion of the Memorial Lesson, John Etheridge and Bill Green were asked to lead 553.

Cindy Franklin read the names of the deceased. Those remembered were: Hadyn Creel, Keterina Sanders, Ada Godsey, Mamie Creel, Mae Seymour, B.B. Mattox, Kim Cagle, Roxie Duffey, Francine Evans, and Clyde Watkins—Alabama; Edith Klein—Florida; and Mae King—Georgia. The sick and shut-ins remembered were: Annie Sanders, Cecil Sanders, Essie Calvert, Marie Aldridge, Flossie Jones, Woodie Walker, Virgil Phillips, Ruby Phillips, Bob Meek, Ralph Heath, Lurleen Heath, Debra Nichols, and Warren Mason. Cindy Franklin led song on page 414 and closed the memorial.


Bill Hogan brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 140. Leaders: John Etheridge 291; Cassie Franklin and Julianna Jett 88; Genny Whitworth 104; Jackie Tanner 172; Hershell King 533; Karen Freund 277, 331b; Thurman Nall 38t; Bill Aplin 379; Jerry Enright 270, 416b; Aubrey Barfield 203, 522; Vickie Aplin 274t; Tommy Spurlock 264b; Elene Stovall 47t; Ann Jett 573; Mattie Townsel 313, 376; Rodney Ivey and Karen Freund 99; Leola Smith and Genny Whitworth 27; Mike Jones 225t; Nate Green and Norma Green 100; Willie Mosley 544; Regina Glass 552; Karen Freund 76b; Cindy Franklin 410.

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, Bill Green, and J.A. Mosley led song on page 146 as the closing song. Bill Aplin dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Secretary—Alice Mosley.