Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B.F. White Sacred Harp Singing Convention (J.L. White Revision)

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Sunday, September 18, 2022

John Plunkett called the class to order, welcoming everyone and dedicating this singing to the memory of Tom Hanson, who had passed away on September 5th. He then led 30t. Oscar McGuire offered the opening prayer. Leaders: John Plunkett 68b; Russell Hanson 72b; Sandra Wilkinson 316; Oscar McGuire 37b; Shawn Taylor 276; Helen Bryson 490b; Linda Thompson 335; Kathy Smith 47b; Carol Hanson 313; Laura Akerman 379; John Plunkett 378b; Russell Hanson 488b; Sandra Wilkinson 477; Oscar McGuire 57; Shawn Taylor 38b; Helen Bryson 38t; Linda Thompson 59; Malinda Snow 87.


Russell Hanson called the class to order leading 63. Leaders: Kathy Smith 277; Carol Hanson 484t; Laura Akerman 547t; John Plunkett 545t; Russell Hanson 544t; Sandra Wilkinson 300; Oscar McGuire 138b (for Cecil Roberts); Shawn Taylor 271t; Helen Bryson 287; Linda Thompson 483t; Malinda Snow 75. Malinda Snow offered prayer for the noon meal.


John Plunkett led 330b to bring the class back together. Leaders: Kathy Smith 502; J.R. Hardman 99; Carol Hanson 395b; Laura Akerman 486t; Ransom Smith 314; Leslie Hanson 274t; John Plunkett 491b; Russell Hanson 299 (in memory of Tom Hanson); Sandra Wilkinson 67; Oscar McGuire 70t; Linda Thompson 517 (in memory of her grandfather, Berry Wilkinson); Leslie Hanson 512 (in memory of Tom Hanson); Shawn Taylor 36b; Helen Bryson 176t; Ransom Smith 50b; Malinda Snow 157; Kathy Smith 159; Carol Hanson 501b; J.R. Hardman 516; Laura Akerman 345b.

Sandra Wilkinson conducted the memorial lesson. The sick and shut-ins listed were Jack Paulk, Cecil Roberts, and Virginia Dyer. Russell Hanson led 546t for those named.

The deceased remembered were as follows: Grace Watts, Charlene Wallace, Richard DeLong, Bentley McGuire, Tom Hanson, Barbara Leavelle, David Grant, and Agnes Todd—Georgia; Coy Ivey, Bill Windom, and Elder J.L. Hopper—Alabama; Sue Bunch—Florida; Ted Mercer—Illinois; and Rebecca Over—United Kingdom. Helen Bryson led 498t for the deceased. The memorial was closed with prayer by John Plunkett.

Leaders: J.R. Hardman 478t; Leslie Hanson 408, 317b; Russell Hanson 526. Following announcements, John Plunkett led 389t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Oscar McGuire.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russell Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson