Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Swannanoa Gathering Shape Note Singing

Warren Wilson College, Swannanoa, North Carolina

Saturday, July 23, 2022

The 14th annual Swannanoa Shape-Note Singing was held in conjunction with Swannanoa Gathering Old Time Music and Dance Week at Warren Wilson College, Morris Pavilion, Swannanoa, North Carolina, on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in July.

The class was called to order by Ron Pen leading 73b from The Sacred Harp (1991 Edition). He offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Eli Snyder 48t; Dan Huger 48b; Phil Perrin 127; Maddy Mullany 171; Andy Morse 168; Gail Doss 112; Jonathan Wood 84; Chris Wilhelm 34b (for Libby Barker); Michael Spencer 354t; Leslie Booher 319; Marj Mullany 228; Mary Baumeister 286; Robert Kelley 517; Clarke Williams 460; Linnea Sablosky 306; Sadhbh O’Flynn 270.


Eli Snyder brought the class to order by leading 214 (CH). The class led selections from The Christian Harmony (2010 edition). Leaders: Julius Pasay 316 (CH); Ron Pen 117 (CH); Phil Perrin 264 (CH); Gail Doss 55t (CH); Andy Morse 245 (CH); Jonathan Wood 67b (CH).

The class led selections to honor the deceased. Leaders: Ron Pen 118 (for Hooey Pen, Kentucky); Will Strayer and Jonathan Wood 178 (for Will Tesdell); Julius Pasay 32b (for Sam Tannenbaum, Connecticut); Marj Mullany 549 (for Sally Gwylan); Clarke Williams 30b (for Jesse Cheek, North Carolina); Michael Spencer 215 (CH) (for Dorothy Lane, North Carolina). Ron Pen and Kaye Specht remembered Penny Scott and Melody Stephens.

The class led selections to honor the sick and shut-ins. Leaders: Chris Wilhelm 163t (CH) (for Libby Barker); Linnea Sablosky 372t (CH) (for Larry Garden). Robert Kelley offered a blessing before the meal.


Maddy Mullany brought the class to order by leading 39b (SoH). The class led selections from The Southern Harmony. Leaders: Chris Wilhelm 126 (SoH); Michael Spencer 41 (SoH); Mary Baumeister 115 (SoH); Robert Kelley 10b (SoH); Clarke Williams 102 (SoH); Sadhbh O’Flynn 79 (SoH); Eli Snyder 78 (SoH); Julius Pasay 25t (SoH); Ron Pen 322 (SoH); Andy Morse 72t (SoH); Jonathan Wood 13t (SoH); Leslie Booher 325 (SoH); Linnea Sablosky 300b (SoH).

The class entered a business meeting. Eli Snyder thanked the arranging committee for their contributions to the offertory. The class voted to add a treasurer and at-large members to the leadership committee and elected officers: Chairman—Sarah Kehrberg; Vice Chairman—Ron Pen; Secretary—Eli Snyder; Treasurer—Clarke WIlliams; At-Large Member—Maddy Mullany.


Michael Spencer brought the class to order by leading 409b (CH). The final session of singing was leader’s choice. Leaders: Mary Baumeister 320 (SoH); Robert Kelley 121 (SoH); Clarke Williams 173b (SoH); Sadhbh O’Flynn 151 (SoH); Eli Snyder 12 (SoH); Julius Pasay 31b (SoH); Ron Pen 455; Andy Morse 546b (CH); Jonathan Wood 524; Leslie Booher 544 (CH); Linnea Sablosky 326 (CH); Marj Mullany 217; Will Strader 496; Maddy Mullany 205 (CH); Chris Wilhelm 548 (CH).

After announcements, the officers led 267 as the closing song. Ron Pen offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Sarah Kehrberg; Vice Chairman—Ron Pen; Treasurer—Clarke Williams; At-Large member—Maddy Mullany; Secretary—Eli Snyder