Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church

Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, June 21, 2020

An amended version of the 153rd annual singing was held at Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church on the third Sunday in June. The singers sat under the trees at a distance from each other due to the Covid-19 virus pandemic. The singing was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Karen Rollins leading 32t. Prayer was led by Philip Denney. Leaders: Wyatt Denney 39t; Philip Denney 101t; Oscar McGuire 34b; Paige Harrod 313t; Karleen Williams 405; Cindy Safier 340; Eris Muse 61; Denney Rogers 87.

Karen Rollins then conducted the memorial lesson. The sick and shut-ins list included Judy Henry, Barry Rollins, Curtis Owen, Sherry Lovvorn, Lucy Heidorn, Rebecca Over, and Jim Shadinger.

The group then sang 373 for the following deceased singers and friends: Aubrey Barfield—Florida; Richard DeLong, Bentley McGuire, Charlene Wallace, Norma Mincey, Carol Chapman, Joel Rogers, Randy Yarbrough, Harold Cook, Mildred Patterson, Wendell Langley, J.F. Terrell, and Adam Caldwell—Georgia; Sonny Erwin and Myrl Jones—Texas; Velton Chafin, Ottis Sides, Margaret Spurlock—Alabama; Bill Beverly—Michigan; Stephen O‚ÄôLeary—California. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Karen Rollins.

Singing resumed with the following leaders: Wyatt Denney 77t; Gayle Denney 299; Philip Denney 146; Oscar McGuire 420 (in memory of Bentley McGuire). The closing song was 45t and prayer was led by Emmett Harrod.

Chairman—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Karen Rollins