Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of Georgia Singing

State Botanical Garden of Georgia, Athens, Georgia

Sunday, February 23, 2020

The 48th annual session of the University of Georgia Singing was held on the fourth Sunday in February. This is the only annual singing that uses The Social Harp, first published in 1855. Michael Spencer brought the class to order by leading 191 (ScH). John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Michael Spencer 87 (ScH); Bill Hollingsworth 61t (ScH), 61b (ScH); David Smead 18b (ScH), 118b (ScH); Shannon Primm 135 (ScH), 235 (ScH); John Plunkett 184 (ScH), 218t (ScH); John Hollingsworth 233 (ScH), 102 (ScH); Lisa Bennett 195 (ScH), 71 (ScH); Judy Mincey 103 (ScH), 194 (ScH); Charles Woods 159 (ScH), 157 (ScH); Robert Kelley 108 (ScH), 51 (ScH); Chris Wilhelm 53 (ScH), 170 (ScH); Oscar McGuire 88 (ScH), 34 (ScH).


Joanna Smolko brought the class back to order leading 156 (ScH). Leaders: Amy Wells 60 (ScH), 185 (ScH); Karen Whelchel-Redwine 50 (ScH), 95 (ScH); Dave Farmer 75 (ScH), 98 (ScH). A business session was held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Michael Spencer; Vice Chairman—Bill Hollingsworth; Secretary—David Smead. Judy Mincey was appointed as the Arranging Officer. A motion passed to dedicate this year’s singing to Edna Garst, who died in January and who was instrumental in organizing this singing in its early years.

Leaders: Michael Spencer 200 (ScH); Bill Hollingsworth 182 (ScH); Shannon Primm 150 (ScH); David Smead 197 (ScH); John Plunkett 227 (ScH); Lisa Bennett 154 (ScH) (in memory of Allan Jenkins); Judy Mincey 155 (ScH); Charles Woods 52b (ScH); Robert Kelley 141 (ScH).


During the afternoon sessions, the class sang from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Leaders: Bill Hollingsworth 32t; Oscar McGuire 34b; Leslie Booher 319; Chris Wilhelm 65; Amy Wells 142; Dave Farmer 209; Christy Sinksen 448t; Joanna Smolko 178; Kevin Kelly 128; Michael Spencer 278t; Bill Hollingsworth 236; David Smead 274b; Shannon Primm and Donna Rosenberger 276; John Plunkett 77b (in memory of Charlene Wallace); John Hollingsworth 186; Lisa Bennett 222 (in memory of B.M. Smith); Judy Mincey 465; Charles Woods 283 (in memory of McGraw singers); Robert Kelley 551; Oscar McGuire 556; Leslie Booher 274t; Chris Wilhelm 545; Amy Wells 112; Dave Farmer 532.


Leaders: Michael Spencer 213b; Christy Sinksen 107; Bill Hollingsworth 489; Shannon Primm and Tiffany Allen 83t; Lisa Bennett 288; Judy Mincey 475; Robert Kelley 284 (in memory of Earlis McGraw); Oscar McGuire 515; Leslie Booher 163b; Chris Wilhelm 308. Following announcements, Michael Spencer led 521 as the closing song. John Hollingsworth offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Michael Spencer; Vice Chairman—Bill Hollingsworth; Secretary—David Smead