Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

W. L. Green Memorial and Baldwin County
Sacred Harp Convention (Cooper Book)

Galilee Primitive Baptist Church, Stapleton, Alabama

January 25-26, 2020

Saturday, January 25

The W. L. “Bill” Green Memorial and Baldwin County Sacred Harp Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in January. The class was called to order by Bill Hogan leading 87. He then gave a warm welcome to all in attendance. All songs were sung from The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Revision. Bill led 36b. The opening prayer was offered by Tim Taylor.

Leaders: Nicole Bowman 384; Nate Green and Norma Green 31b; Alice Mosley and Crystal Menas 484; Elam Eddins 297; Eric Eddins 192; Evie Eddins 406; Nancy Hogan 464; Tim Taylor 99; Wayne Jones 395b; Henry McGuire 567; Ezra Eddins 28b; Sue Bunch 511t; Kevin Dyess 380t; John Kelley 63; Tim Royappa and Stanley Smith 156; Charlotte Naylor 155.


The class was brought back to order by Bill Hogan and Bill Bragwell leading 478. Leaders: Gary Padgett 218; Barbara Jones 277; Lloyd Jones 465; Reba Windom 505; Crystal Menas and Will Menas 343; Pam Nunn 280; Dana Eddins 47t; Ken Sundberg 320; Ben Fink 357; Ethan Eddins 57; Alice Sundberg 72; Edith Eddins 276; Joshua McCoy 282 (in memory of his mother, Linda McCoy).


Bill Hogan and Brian Naylor brought the class back together by leading 442t. Leaders: Chris Nicholson 212; Anne Royappa 196; Tommie Spurlock 386. The Southwest Mobile County Vocal Choir (Hester Gray, Rose Mary Pettway, Juanetta Franks, Sandra Stewart, Elouise Walley, Marian Walley, Oliver Walley, Cleo Murphy, and Edward Mitchell) led by Cleo Murphy sang “Hold to His Hand”. Oliver Walley led the Choir in “Heaven’s Jubilee.” The class sang 369 and Kevin Eddins offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Bill Hogan leading 96. Leaders: Kevin Eddins 273; Loretta Jones 516; Georgeanna Presnell 268t; Morgan Bunch 274t; Shannan Guinn 163t; Beverly Dayton and Jimmy Prater 456 (in memory of Anne); Stephen Huffman 45b; Gerald Manning 558; Ewan Eddins 193; Mary Huffman 30t; Emily Eddins 159; Stanley Smith 515; Elisabeth Royappa 168; Ken Sundberg and Alice Sundberg 59; Charlotte Naylor 392; Darlu Nall 38b; Tim Royappa, Anne Royappa, and Elisabeth Royappa 395t, 416t; Joshua McCoy 264t; Kevin Dyess, Deanna Autry, and Kate Barrett 47b; John Kelley 100; Stephen Huffman and Mary Huffman 497; Wayne Jones and Barbara Jones 171; Mary Amelia Taylor 35.

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, Nicole Bowman, Nate Green, and Nancy Hogan led 285t as the closing song. Bill Hogan offered the closing prayer.

Evening Singing from The Christian Harmony

Leaders: Bill Hogan 214; Tim Taylor 417b; Ben Fink 372; Mary Amelia Taylor 193; Beverly Dayton 25t; Nancy Hogan 477; Sue Bunch 43; Alice Sundberg 196; Ken Sundberg 346; Chris Nicholson 490; Josh McCoy 466; Jimmy Prater 24t; Martha Taylor 385; Morgan Bunch 549b; Stanley Smith 336t; Bill Hogan 316; Tim Taylor 64; Ben Fink 172; Mary Amelia Taylor 176; Beverly Dayton 296; Nancy Hogan 74; Sue Bunch 548; Alice Sundberg 179; Ken Sundberg 496t; Chris Nicholson 67b; Josh McCoy 303; Jimmy Prater 133; Martha Taylor 170; Morgan Bunch 76b.

Sunday, January 26

The Sunday morning session was called to order by Bill Hogan leading 75. Afterwards he gave a short devotional reading from 1 John 2. The opening prayer was offered by Bill Hogan. Leaders: Nicole Bowman 144; Nate Green and Norma Green 455t, 445b; Alice Mosley 45t; Evie Eddins 66; Nancy Hogan 95b; Edith Eddins 488; Beverly Dayton 553; Reba Windom 559; Charlie McGuire 161; Mary Amelia Taylor 313; Pam Nunn 470; Tim Jones 120; Russ Scholz 47t; Emily Eddins 373; Henry McGuire 447t.


Bill Hogan brought the class back together by leading 182. Leaders: Stanley Smith 542; Ewan Eddins 142; Lloyd Jones 571; Ryan Bowman and Ewell Bowman 191; Dana Eddins 543; Tommie Spurlock 464, 574; Elam Eddins 203; Will Menas 348t; Ben Fink and Henry McGuire 582; Kevin Eddins 210.

The memorial committee was recognized to present the memorial lesson. Chris Nicholson described several of the unique characteristics of Sacred Harp singing, particularly how the absent are missed, both in regular singing and in the memorial lesson. Chris read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: John Tenbrook, Ateven Snderson, Velton Chafin, Wilber Ellison, Dorothy Graff, Margaret Spurlock, Beau Caldwell, Floyd Nicholson, Coy Ivey, and Curtis Owen. He reminded the class to bless these people by contacting them this week.

Mary Amelia Taylor read the following list of names of the deceased: Anne Blake, Linda McCoy, Aubrey Barfield, Betty Kendrick, Willodean Thrash, Elder Bobby Willis, Clyde Jerkins, Adelaide Vaughn and Burl Russell. She spoke of how we remember death as we sing together. We grieve together and remind each other that for the Christian, death is the gate to endless joy. We have a living hope. She led 344. Kevin Eddins offered prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Gary Padgett 486; Eric Eddins 112; Loretta Jones 138t; Crystal Menas 572; Ethan Eddins 304; Tim Taylor 391; Ezra Eddins 60; Chris Nicholson 152. The class sang 369, and Russ Scholtz offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The class was called back to order for the afternoon session by Bill Hogan leading 29t. Leaders: Eli Eddins 70t; Tim Jones 461; Nate Green and Norma Green 380t; Chris Nicholson 264t; Will Menas 122; Lloyd Jones and Loretta Jones 463; Tim Taylor 507b; Emily Eddins 242; Crystal Menas 146; Kevin Eddins and Dana Eddins 520; Gary Padgett 300; Ben Fink 580, 229; Evie Eddins and Elliot Eddins 388; Ryan Bowman, Nichole Bowman, and Ewell Bowman 186.

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, Nancy Hogan, Nichole Bowman, and Nate Green led 207t as the closing song. Bill Hogan closed the convention with prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairman—Nicole Bowman; Secretary—Nancy Hogan