Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Florida State Convention (Cooper Book)

Union Hill Singing Hall, Miller’s Crossroads, Florida

November 30-December 1, 2019

Saturday, November 30

The 52nd session of the Florida State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on the first Sunday and Saturday before in December. The class was called to order by Oscar McGuire leading 49t. The opening prayer was offered by Kevin Eddins. Oscar McGuire read Psalm 100 and led 293b.

Leaders: Ken Kelley 497; Evie Eddins 406; Edith Eddins 327; Ryan Bowman and Ewell Bowman 98; Victoria Aplin 76b; Nancy Hogan 520; Geoffrey Brooks 132; Tim Taylor 186; Samuel Williams 315; Ralph Ward 478; Ken Sundberg 456; Rachel Speer 494; Eric Eddins 192; Tommie Spurlock 63; Sue Bunch 516; Wayne Jones 464.


Ken Kelley led 108t to bring the class together. Leaders: Wynette Smith 475; Jewell Rowland 143; Emily Eddins 196; M J Millard 282; Frank Strickland 410; Linda Selph 559; Tom Booth 511b; Beverley Dayton and M J Millard 122 (in memory of Anne Blake); John Kelley 82; Elam Eddins 304; Robert Chambless 70t.


Oscar McGuire brought the class to order leading 145t. Leaders: Morgan Bunch 594; McKenzie Flynn 572; Chris Nicholson 212; Nate Green and Norma Green 466; Kate Fine 505; Alice Sundberg 210; Ethan Eddins 168; Kennon Smith 504t. At this time Mr. Wayne Jones, on behalf of the Sacred Harp Book Company, presented an honorary plaque to Mr. Tommie Spurlock, commemorating his many years of service in the Sacred Harp community. The class sang 369 and Bill Hogan gave thanks for the meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Oscar McGuire and Evie Eddins leading 96. Leaders: Nicole Bowman and Ewell Bowman 77t; Kevin Eddins 592; Barbara Jones 140; Linda Booth 222; Dean Jens 471; Ezra Eddins 203; Gary Padgett 193; Lauren Allen 424; Ewan Eddins 250; Daniel Williams 479; Ellen Fournier 511t; Eli Eddins 283; Judy Chambless 29t; Bill Hogan 54t; Dana Eddins 87; Samuel Williams 504b; Linda Selph 273; Ellen Fournier 208; Daniel Williams 567; Tim Taylor 217; Geoffrey Brooks 268t; Stanley Smith 156; John Kelley 100; Tommie Spurlock and Nancy Hogan 112 (for Margaret Spurlock); Lilah Kate Flynn 113. Upcoming singings were announced. Oscar McGuire and Ken Kelley led 331t. Ken Kelley offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, December 1

The Sunday session of the Florida State Sacred Harp Singing Convention began with Oscar McGuire leading 31b. Chris Nicholson asked a blessing on the day. Oscar McGuire continued leading 444t. Leaders: Evie Eddins 306; Elam Eddins 175; Tim Jones 171; Linda Booth 220; Ewan Eddins 131t; McKenzie Flynn 559; Dean Jens 375, 429; Eli Eddins 47t; Gary Padgett 346; Nate Green and Norma Green 380t; Ken Sundberg 378t; Jewell Rowland 358; Ezra Eddins 108b.


Oscar McGuire brought the class to order leading 36b. Leaders: Edith Eddins 77t; Jamie Kelley 146; Sue Bunch 514. Shannan Guinn led 240 and read the notes that Mr. Aubrey Barfield had prepared for this singing: As I was trying to decide what I would use for a memorial for those who passed away this year, I thought I would try writing a few words. A memorial is held when we think of those who have passed away, and are no longer with us. They are with us still in our memories of them. When someone leads 491, we remember Mrs. Lovie Price; when they lead 242, we remember Eva Padgett; for 218, we remember Tommy Barfield; for 196, we remember Ralph Heath; and with 376, it’s none other than Aunt Rune Glover. John Etheridge comes to mind when we lead 86. When I hear 138t, I think of Frank Hathaway; for 30b, I think of Bill Aplin, 225t Winston Jones. I could go on and on about singers and their special songs.

But when I’m at a sing, and a memorial is held, I think of Mrs. Ruth Brown and the memorial she led in Winter Garden one year. The building we were singing in had a beautiful sunset scene painted on the wall, and she used it to tell how as the sun set in our lives we go to a place where there are no more setting suns, but an eternal rest for our souls.

Leaders: Tommie Spurlock 574; Rachel Speer 48t, 411; Chris Nicholson 293b; Kate Fine 591; Lauren Allen 47b; Bill Hogan 455t, 455b.


Oscar McGuire and Evie Eddins brought the class to order leading 29b. Leaders: Emily Eddins 169; Stanley Smith 235 (for Vivian Rogan); Ralph Ward 563.

Bill Hogan and Dana Eddins conducted the memorial lesson. Bill Hogan described God’s plan of salvation throughout history and how we look to Jesus as our example. We are also given examples in those who have gone before us, like the people who have passed this year. Bill Hogan read the following list of names of the deceased: Aubrey Barfield, Ann Blake, Hubert Barfield—Florida; Charlene Wallace—Georgia; Arlene Jens—Iowa; Paul Wilson—Minnesota; Michael Appert—Illinois; Concetta Branson—Oregon; John Beasley, Joyce Hubbert, Willodean Thrash, Ottis Sides—Alabama; Adelaide Vaughn—Texas. Bill Hogan led 86.

Dana Eddins said we miss those who can’t be with us. She read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Jennifer Jones, Curtis Owen, Betty Kendrick, Wilburn Ellison, Juanita Beasley, Velton Chafin, Coy Ivey, Margaret Spurlock, and Desmond O’Flynn. Dana Eddins led 133. Bill Hogan closed the memorial service with prayer.

Singing continued with leaders: Wynette Smith 49b; Ethan Eddins 404; Wayne Jones 73t. Ken Sundberg gave thanks for the meal.


Jamie Kelley and Shannan Guinn began the afternoon session by leading 96. Leaders: Barbara Jones 277; Elliot Eddins 388; Chip Westbrook 451; Annabelle Tanner 573; Kennon Smith 585; Loretta Jones 138t; Karen Clark 516; Victoria Aplin 421; Kevin Eddins 342; Lilah Kate Flynn 348t; Morgan Bunch 214; Dana Eddins 264b; Eric Eddins 313; Nancy Hogan and Tommie Spurlock 183; Kate Fine 497; Lauren Allen 54t; Chris Nicholson 264t.

Tommie Spurlock thanked the chairman and all who made the singing a success. Tommie Spurlock then gave the financial report. He announced that the singing would now have only one vice chairman and announced the new officers for next year as follows: Chairman—Ken Kelley; Vice Chairman—Chris Nicholson. Announcements of upcoming singings were made. Jamie Kelley, Chris Nicholson, and Oscar McGuire led 62 as the closing song. Morgan Bunch offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Oscar McGuire; Vice Chairman—Ken Kelley; Secretaries—Evie Eddins, Elam Eddins, and Edith Eddins