Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Historic St. John’s Church, Richmond, Virginia

Saturday, November 9, 2019

The 28th annual James River Convention was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November in the parish hall of St. John’s Church in Richmond, Virginia. The class was welcomed by Adrienne Robertson leading 39t. The opening prayer was offered by Les Updike. A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Matt Ference; Vice Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Treasurer—Lois Badey; Secretary—Mary Wright; Arranging Committee—Ari Lindenbaum, Diane Ober, and Adrienne Robertson.

Leaders: Matt Ference 203; Lois Badey and Leah Edwards 84; Mary Wright 35; Ari Lindenbaum 224; Pat Temple and Les Updike 373; Blake Morris 67; Bridget Camden 70b; Lydia Lewallen 475; John Feddersen 216; Stefani Priskos 406; Kathy Kaiser 421; John delRe 436.


The class resumed singing with Lynda Hambourger leading 12b (ShH). Leaders: Mary Helen Dupree 18b (ShH); Kelly Macklin 216 (ShH); Richard Green 424b (ShH); Claire Chapin 78 (ShH); Kathy Manning 428 (ShH); John Alexander 404t (ShH); Miranda Elliott-Rader 1b (ShH).

The memorial lesson was directed by Pat Temple, who led 111t for the following sick and shut-ins: Will Sessions, Charlene Wallace, Jerny Delo, Gloran Neal, Earl Keher, Leo Lewis, Barney Cochran, Lea Miller, Ronnie Wilson, Russell Fink, and Ruby Jane Freeman.

The following deceased were commemorated: Christine Moore—Tennessee; Coyd Seatt—Alabama; Norma Morris and Mary Alice Dean—Virginia. Pat led 122 in memory of those who passed over.

The class resumed singing with Bev Yaeger leading 310 (ShH). Leaders: Ben Hartland 195 (ShH); Leyland delRe 113 (ShH).


The class resumed singing with Adrienne Robertson leading 99. Leaders: Blake Morris 141; Mary Langley 61; Bridget Camden 29b; John Feddersen 369; Mary Helen Dupree 315; Lydia Lewallen 27; Ari Lindenbaum 65; Stefani Priskos 349; Richard Green 106; Leyland delRe 187; John Alexander 56b; Lynda Hambourger 71. Les Updike led the class in prayer before the lunch recess.


The class resumed singing with John Alexander and Diane Ober leading 438t (ShH). Leaders: John delRe 80 (ShH); Kathy Manning 254 (ShH); Miranda Elliott-Rader 432t (ShH); Kelly Macklin 167 (ShH); Bev Yaeger 364b (ShH), 188 (ShH); Matt Ference 305 (ShH); Lois Badey 48 (ShH); Mary Wright 11 (ShH); Kathy Kaiser 120t (ShH); Pat Temple 27 (ShH); Stefani Priskos 128 (ShH); Richard Green 266 (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 242 (ShH); John Feddersen 5t (ShH); Leyland delRe 9b (ShH); Adrienne Robertson 169 (ShH); John Alexander 22b (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 243 (ShH); Claire Chapin 418t (ShH).


The class resumed singing with John Alexander leading 1t (ShH). Leaders: Adrienne Robertson 551; Mary Langley 416; Ben Hartland 43t (ShH); Blake Morris 28t (ShH); Bev Yaeger 431 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 350 (ShH); Lydia Lewallen 460; Kathy Kaiser 131t; John delRe 321b (ShH); Miranda Elliott-Rader 79 (ShH); Kathy Manning 543; Lois Badey 86; Mary Wright 477; Kathy Manning 278 (ShH); Matt Ference 87; Blake Morris 158b (ShH); Adrienne Robertson and Izzy Pezzulo 403 (ShH); Kelly Macklin and John delRe 397 (ShH); Mary Johnson 77b.

Matt Ference thanked all who had a part in putting on the convention, and all those who participated. The James River Convention will meet next year on Saturday before the second Sunday in November (November 7, 2020). Matt Ference led 157 (ShH) as the closing song. A prayer of dismissal was offered by Les Updike, which concluded the convention.

Chairman—Matt Ference; Vice Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Secretary—Mary Wright