Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Civic Center, Henderson, Texas

August 10-11, 2019

Saturday, August 10

The 164th session of The East Texas Sacred Harp Convention met at the Henderson Civic Center in Henderson, Texas, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 31t. The opening prayer was offered by Tim McClain.

Leaders: Robert Vaughn 224; Joan Smith 47b; David Rousseau 159; John Morris 282; Tim McClain 450; Tammy Powell 189; Kyle Hearn 68t; Gaylon Powell 441; Rodney Ivey 464; Kristie Powell 522; Tommie Spurlock 146; Lauren Owen 463; Reba Windom and Cheyenne Ivey 505; Silas Huckaby 112; Bridgett Jamison 53; Jackson Owen 442t; Ainsley Ross 410; Robert Handel 98; Stanley Smith 210; Tom Owen 36b; Abigail Huckaby 99; Ainslie Allen 186; Beverly Coates 590; Hoss Curran 60. Mayor John “Buzz” Fullen gave the singers a warm welcome.


Sam Craig brought the class back together by leading 528b. Leaders: Mike Hinton 572; Chris Parris and Jillian Parris 559; Elle Curran, Michele Curran, and Abigail Curran 367; Jerry Ryan 274t; Ron Bernucho 571; Chris Nicholson 212; David Ivey 497; Allie Miller and Anna Miller 45t; Sarah Huckaby 299; Vicki Cook 148; Lloyd Wright 48t; Caleb Hardy 546; Jim Lazenby 40; Sandra Wright 524; Bruce Coates 570b; Ryan Ross 198; Scott Curran 269; Owen Ross 304; Gary Rogan 54t; Bob McLemore 58; Cory Winters 300. Owen Ross asked a blessing before the midday meal.


Sam Craig brought the class back to order by leading 100. Leaders: Karen Rollins 38t; Vivian Rogan 392; Donald Ross 416b; Cheryl Foreman 380t; Michele Curran 196; Diane Ross 142; Kyle Hearn 63; Robert Handel 268b; Caleb Hardy 264b; Owen Ross 192; Stanley Smith 217; Bob McLemore 78; Rodney Ivey and Karen Rollins 365; Lauren Owen and Abigail Huckaby 388; Jerry Ryan 408; Jim Lazenby 108b; Silas Huckaby 449; Reba Windom 478; Lloyd Wright 288; Samuel Wright 486; Myrl Jones 491, 300; Margaret Wright 122; Ron Bernucho 500; Ainsley Ross 540; Sarah Huckaby 138t; Mike Hinton 434; Chris Nicholson 422t; Tommie Spurlock 574; Gaylon Powell 235; Bridgett Jamison 268t; Ainslie Allen 76b; Tammy Powell 137; Beverly Coates 514; Jackson Owen 155; Scott Curran 203; Kristie Powell 133.

Sam Craig led 553 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Rev. Charles Nunnally.

Saturday night, August 10

Approximately fifteen singers enjoyed a meal of homemade Tex-Mex food at the Civic Center. Leo Stanley offered prayer before the meal. After the meal they enjoyed singing from the Shenandoah Harmony. All in attendance enjoyed the evening.

Sunday, August 11

The Sunday session was called to order by Sam Craig leading 75. The opening prayer was offered by Robert Vaughn. Leaders: Joan Smith 572; John Morris 119; David Rousseau 104; Ryan Ross 406; Tom Owen 250; David Ivey 471; Eddie Huckaby 63; Ainsley Ross 183; Gary Rogan 384; Charles Whitmer 486; Nancy Hunter 82; Henry McGuire 578; Josh Rogan 497; Ainslie Allen 196; Bruce Coates 575; Tommie Spurlock 140; Karen Rollins 171; Rodney Ivey and Josh Rogan 552; Will McGuire 410; Stanley Smith 513t; Reba Windom 559; Hoss Curran 388.


Sam Craig brought the class back together leading 145t. Leaders: Donald Ross 284; Vivian Rogan 32t; Cory Winters 383; Jackson Owen 168; Cheryl Foreman 50t; Silas Huckaby 319; Diane Ross and Rodney Ivey 464; Michele Curran and Olivia Curran 129; Abigail Huckaby 40; Ron Bernucho 518; Lauren Owen 96; Sarah Huckaby 558b; Mike Hinton 567; Chris Nicholson 293b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Tom Owen, Bruce Coates, and Rodney Ivey. Bruce Coates read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Margaret Spurlock, Ottis Sides, Wayne Jones, Coy Ivey, Aubrey Barfield, Charlene Wallace, Baron Powers, Sonny Erwin, Dale Redmon, Jr, Curtis Owen, Steve Hoyt, and Jennifer Jones. Bruce Coates led 48t for them.

Tom Owen spoke in honor of the deceased. Rodney Ivey read the following list of names of the deceased: Mike Jones and Eugene Forbes—Alabama; Rodney Willard and Barbara Willard—Arizona; Susan Roberts—Georgia; Claire Powell and Nancy Powell—Oklahoma; Jim Windom—Michigan; Paul Wilson—Minnesota; Linda Hill, Adelaide Vaughn, Ruby Stanton, William R. Ashby, and Elder C.B. Anderson—Texas. Rodney Ivey led 515 in memory of the deceased. Donald Ross closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Gaylon Powell 343b; Scott Curran 422b; Beverly Coates 520; Bridgett Jamison 381t; Tammy Powell 217t; David Ivey 373; Robert Vaughn 278b; Elle Curran 500. Prayer was offered by Bill Redmon.


Sam Craig brought the class back to order by leading 313. Leaders: Kristie Powell 64; Hannah Underwood and Kristie Powell 387; Henry McGuire 496b; Nancy Hunter 268t; Eddie Huckaby 323b; Charles Whitmer 218; Danny Dunn 501; Tom Owen 57; Bruce Coates 587; Donald Ross 36t; Cory Winters 269; Josh Rogan 122; Jackson Owen 514; Will McGuire 408; Tommie Spurlock 264b; Diane Ross 95b; Henry McGuire 540; Cheryl Foreman 448; Chris Nicholson 264t; Stanley Smith 288; Silas Huckaby 430; Ron Bernucho 239; Abigail Huckaby 72; Sarah Huckaby 225t; Gaylon

Powell 532; Beverly Coates 527; Bridgett Jamison 277; Tammy Powell, Abigail Huckaby, and Lauren Owen 392; Joan Smith 100; David Rousseau 179; John Morris 31t. The committee reported that sixty-four leaders led one hundred sixty-eight songs over the two days with two hundred sixty-one people attending from eleven states.

Robert Vaughn led 496t as the closing song. Tom Owen offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts