Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Bethel Primitive Baptist Church
McMahan, Texas

March 28-29, 1998

Saturday, March 28

The ninety-eighth annual session of the Southwest Texas Convention met at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, McMahan, Texas. Chairman Jeb Owen opened the convention at 10:00 a.m. leading song on page 376. Gary Rogan offered the morning prayer.

Officers led as follows: Chairman Jeb Owen 270; Vice Chairman Kevin Powell 383; Secretary John Baker 239. Leaders: Curtis Owen 198; Leon Ballinger 212; Vivian Rogan 171; Myra Palmer 497; Joe Owen 515; Myrl Jones 142; Gary Rogan 155; Emmie Morris 381t; B.E. Matthews 434; Don Ross 92; George Jones 336b; Martha Aiken 148; Doris Hanks 63; Joe Nelson 58; Ophelia Matthews 563; Dale Redmon, Jr. 540; Carol Selleck 283; Carla Smith 559.


The class was called back with Jeb Owen leading song on page 179. Leaders: Tom Owen 411; Jerry Schreiber 133; Sherrye Smith and Shannon Smith 274t; Josh Rogan 280; Elissa Smith 85; Sarah Coates 224; Michele Rogan 235; Katie Moseley 189; Reed Coates 358; Liz Rogan 216; Amanda Owen 508; Lori Rodgers 282.

A business meeting was held. According to the convention rules, Vice Chairman Kevin Powell moved up to Chairman. Officers elected were: John Baker—Vice Chairman; Gaylon Powell—Secretary. B. E. Matthews and Mike Moseley were appointed as the Memorial Committee.

Elder Tony Benitez asked the blessing for the noon meal.


Chairman Kevin Powell called the class back together leading song on page 277. Leaders: Beverly Coates 389t; Nobie Smith 313; Mike Moseley 522; Al Rogers 575; Pat Blundell 159; Lisa Hardaway 572; Edith Owen 489; Cissy Moseley 507b; Marilyn Burkland 348t; Paul Smith 488b; Diane Ross 230; Mary Bachmann 55; David Moseley 450; Mary Ann Owen 293b; John Morris 186; Mary Oruc 77t; Bruce Coates 336t; Joseph Stang 112; Edwin Reed 75.

Announcements of upcoming singings were made.


Chairman Kevin Powell called the class back leading song on page 331b. Leaders: Gaylon Powell 296; Jerry Schreiber 392; Carol Selleck 68t; Joe Owen 199; Carla Smith 89; Lori Rodgers 319; Myrl Jones 183; Joe Nelson 384; Don Ross 496t; Dale Redmon, Jr. 500; Emmie Morris 215; Diane Ross 394; John Morris 163t; Cissy Moseley 264b; Myra Palmer 414; Beverly Coates 294; Gary Rogan 511b. Leon Ballinger led song on page 69 as the closing song, and dismissed the convention with prayer.

Sunday, March 29

The Convention met again Sunday morning at 9:30 a. m. with Chairman Kevin Powell leading song on page 67. Curtis Owen offered the morning prayer. The officers led as follows: Chairman Kevin Powell 77t; Vice Chairman John Baker 40, 168; Secretary Gaylon Powell 558, 559. Leaders: Mike Moseley 434, 442t; B.E. Matthews 204, 137; Leon Ballinger 136, 299; Edith Owen 276, 410; Charles Whitmer 218, 575; Landis Powell 47t, 47b; Burl Russell 75, 418; Diane Ross 200, 394; Michele Rogan 522, 128; Carla Smith 28b, 38t; Nobie Smith 516, 571.


The class was called back with the Kevin Powell leading song on page 201. Leaders: Emmie Morris 300, 110; Don Ross 27, 36t; Carol Selleck 290, 393t; Josh Rogan 196, 293t; Myrl Jones 567, 332; Joseph Stang 192, 171; Sherrye Smith and Shannon Smith 148; Jerry Schreiber 120, 478; Katie Moseley 406, 217; Myra Palmer 491, 500; Reed Coates 129, 387; Dale Redmon, Jr. 514, 507b.

The Memorial Lesson was held in memory of those singers and supporters of Sacred Harp who passed away in the past year. Those remembered were: Gladys Hill, Addie Hawkins, Ray Barnett, Barbara Cooper, Elmer White, and Marilou Jolly who was from California. B.E. Matthews read 1 Chronicles 16:23-34: “Sing unto the Lord, all the earth; show forth from day to day His salvation. Declare His glory among the heathen; His marvellous works among all nations. For great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised: He also is to be feared above all gods. For all the gods of the people are idols: but the Lord made the heavens. Glory and honour are in His presence; strength and gladness are in His place. Give unto the Lord, ye kindreds of the people, give unto the Lord glory and strength. Give unto the Lord the glory due unto His name: bring an offering, and come before Him: worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness. Fear before Him, all the earth: the world also shall be stable, that it be not moved. Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice: and let men say among the nations, The Lord reigneth. Let the sea roar, and the fulness thereof: let the fields rejoice, and all that is therein. Then shall the trees of the wood sing out at the presence of the Lord, because He cometh to judge the earth. O give thanks unto the Lord; for He is good; for His mercy endureth for ever”. B.E. Matthews made a few comments and then led song on page 395b. Mike Moseley led song on page 285t. Kevin Powell led song on page 59 for the sick and shut-ins.

The singing dismissed for lunch with prayer by Bruce Coates.


Kevin Powell called the singers back together leading song on page 132. Leaders: Sarah Coates 123b; Gary Rogan 369; John Morris 390; Liz Rogan 220; Elissa Smith 488b; David Moseley 186; Vivian Rogan 36b; Paul Smith 39; Lisa Hardaway 61; Beverly Coates 38b; Mary Bachmann 198; Amanda Owen 343b; Martha Aiken 470; Bruce Coates 312; Jeb Owen 404; George Jones 35; Edwin Reed 573; Doris Hanks 422b; Al Rogers 54t; Carla Spencer 358; Tom Owen 225b; Ophelia Matthews 365; Curtis Owen 278b; Cissy Moseley 447t; Leland Owen 45t; Carol Selleck 546; Carla Smith 131b; Jerry Schreiber 288; Sarah Coates 400; Liz Rogan 31t; Elissa Smith 159; Amanda Owen 543b; Carla Spencer 164; David Moseley 440b; Jeb Owen 559; Charles Whitmer “Love at Home.”

The convention closed with Kevin Powell leading song on page 62 as the closing song. Tom Owen led the closing prayer.

Chairman—Kevin Powell; Vice Chairman—John Baker; Secretary—Gaylon Powell.