Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing

Union Primitive Baptist Church, Johnstonville, Georgia

Saturday, April 20, 2019

The 16th annual Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in April. Oscar McGuire welcomed the class, and led 59. David Grant offered the morning prayer. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 34b; Lisa Bennett 31b; Helen Bryson 436, 358.

A business session was held. The class voted for the following to serve as officers for today’s singing: Chairman—Oscar McGuire; Vice Chairman—Lisa Bennett; Secretary—Helen Bryson.

Leaders: David Smead 292, 44; David Grant 166, 421; Mary Brownlee 348b, 183; Justin Bowen 375, 349; Winfred Kerr 36b, 225t.


Lisa Bennett called the class to order leading 111b. Leaders: Bill Hollingsworth 68t, 196; John Hollingsworth 290, 418; Rebecca Over 378t, 405; Rosemund Watson 503, 277; Martha Harrell 156, 77t; Faye Hollis 99, 155; Alpha Watson and John Plunkett 299; John Plunkett 310, 572; Jesse Huber 354b, 268; Bert Collins 97, 542; Glenda Collins 124, 300.


Oscar McGuire called the class to order leading 33b. Leaders: Wayne Watson 146; Helen Bryson 415; David Smead 132; Justin Bowen 134; David Grant 345t; Mary Brownlee 556; Jessie Huber 47b; Bert Collins 340; Glenda Collins 63; Lisa Bennett 163b; John Plunkett 34t (for Agnes Todd, Virginia Dyer, Alpha Watson’s sister, Suzanne Bryant); Faye Hollis 276; Martha Harrell 178; Rosemund Watson 149; Rebecca Over 323t; Bill Hollingsworth 236; Winfred Kerr 77b (for Charlene Wallace); Oscar McGuire 485 (by request).

The class opted to have today’s singing posted in the large minutes, and the remainder of the collection to be donated to the host church, Union Primitive Baptist Church. Announcements were made.

Rosemund Watson led 347 as closing song. The closing prayer was offered by John Hollingsworth.

Chairman—Oscar McGuire; Vice Chairman—Lisa Bennett; Secretary—Helen Bryson