Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The W. L. Green Memorial and Baldwin County Sacred Harp Convention

Galilee Primitive Baptist Church, Stapleton, Alabama

January 26-27, 2019

Saturday, January 26

The W.L. “Bill” Green Memorial/Baldwin County Sacred Harp Convention (Cooper Revision) was held at Galilee Primitive Baptist Church, Stapleton, Alabama, on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in January. The class was called to order by Bill Hogan leading 49b, and then gave a warm welcome to all in attendance. Bill led 122. The opening prayer was offered by Stephen Huffman.

Leaders: Alice Mosley and Crystal Menas 484; Nate Green and Norma Green 544; Evie Eddins 333; Mary Amelia Taylor 373 (in memory J.A. Mosley); Ken Kelley 86; Edith Eddins 543; Tim Royappa 268b; Alice Sundberg 166; Aubrey Barfield 524; Joshua McCoy 282 (in memory of his father); Robert Chambless 283 (in memory of Eugene Forbes); Elliot Eddins 330t; Ryan Bowman, Nicole Bowman, and Ewell Bowman 127.


The class was brought back to order by Danny Creel leading 355 and 404. Leaders: Patrick McKenzie and Shannan McKenzie 587; Kevin Eddins 592; Sue Bunch 504t; Gary Padgett 552; Jamira Jackson 168; Ateven Snderson 443; Russ Scholz 96; Wanda Gregg 559; Stanley Smith 112 (for Tommie and Margaret Spurlock); Mary Huffman 575; Dana Eddins 293b.


Mary Amelia Taylor brought the class back together by leading 381t. Leaders: Tim Taylor 380t; Eric Eddins 441; Henry McGuire 567; Anne Royappa 273 (in memory of Paul Royappa); Will Menas 571; Todd Derstine and Regina Derstine 138t; Ken Sundberg 456; Andrew Royappa 48b; Charlotte Naylor 573; Eli Eddins 47t; John Kelley 63; Stephen Huffman 511t; Ewan Eddins 299; Ryan Bowman 290 (in memory of Lurlene Heath); Judy Chambless 29t. The class sang 369, and Gary Padgett offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Bill Hogan leading 230 and 511b. Leaders: Ezra Eddins 54t; Lloyd Jones 45t; Elam Eddins 304; Daron Douglas 65; Morgan Bunch 274t; Gerald Manning 38t; Howe Pearson 47b; Reba Windom 505; Kevin Dyess 508; Perry Keidel 107; Luke Strickland 145b; Chris Nicholson 212; Loretta Jones 384; Crystal Menas 572; Ethan Eddins 29b; Pam Nunn 189; Henry McGuire 578; Brenda Kyser 391; Howe Pearson 225t; Daron Douglas 31t; Stephen Huffman 133; Mary Huffman 497; Luke Strickland 72.

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, Nate Green, Emily Eddins, Evie Eddins, and Mary Amelia Taylor led 410 (by request) and 392 as the closing song. Bill Hogan dismissed the class with prayer.

Evening Singing from the Christian Harmony

Bill Hogan began the singing with a brief review of the notes, and then led 41t. The class sang 105b. Leaders: Josh McCoy 468t; Perry Keidel 143, 142; Alice Sundberg 264; Linda Williams 77; Regina Derstine 346; Sue Bunch 214; Jamira Jackson 109; Morgan Bunch 82; Stanley Smith 54; Tim Taylor 417b; Mary Amelia Taylor 493b; Bill Hogan 149; Terry Mincks 85; Will Massey 178; Doug Williams 226t; Josh McCoy 303; Ateven Snderson 76b; Perry Keidel 323; Ken Sundberg 133; Linda Williams 206; Regina Derstine 59b; Sue Bunch 64; Jamira Jackson 51; Morgan Bunch 459t; Tim Taylor 397t; Stanley Smith 336t; Mary Amelia Taylor 203.

Sunday, January 27

The Sunday morning session was called to order by Bill Hogan leading 84. He thanked everyone for coming, and the church for welcoming the convention. Bill then led 182. The opening prayer was offered by Bill Hogan.

Leaders: Alice Mosley and Crystal Menas 45t; Evie Eddins 448; Nate Green, Norma Green, and Margie Smith 465, 30t; Emily Eddins 27; Mary Amelia Taylor 203; Gary Padgett 494; Todd Derstine and Regina Derstine 98; Tim Jones 120; Ethan Eddins 250; Morgan Bunch 171; Will Menas 276; Jamira Jackson 500; Henry McGuire 528t.


Bill Hogan brought the class back together leading 442t. Leaders: Eli Eddins 138b; Stanley Smith 139; Ateven Snderson 388; Edith Eddins 324; Tim Taylor 186; Elliot Eddins 47t; Chris Nicholson 300; Dana Eddins 192; Crystal Menas 146; Elam Eddins 183; Wanda Gregg 463; Ezra Eddins 50t; Kevin Eddins 243b; Reba Windom 478; Eric Eddins 497; Morgan Bunch and Sue Bunch 516.

The memorial committee was recognized to present the memorial lesson. Stanley Smith read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Tommie Spurlock, Margaret Spurlock, Wilburn Ellison, Velton Chafin, Brenda Chafin, James Gardner, Nancy Hogan, Coy Ivey, Verona Campbell, Curtis Owen, and Roy Davis. Stanley spoke on the struggles we often face in our earthly lives, but that God gives us strength to make it through. He led 268b, noting the text.

Bill Hogan read the following list of names of the deceased: J.A. Mosley, Mike Jones, and Eugene Forbes—Alabama; Foye Humphrey and Freddie Briggs—Florida; Mel Rosenbaum and Amy Denison—Texas; Andy Worthington—Arkansas. Bill shared that God’s abundant love and good and perfect gifts are always present in our lives, noting that even when life breaks in, God walks with us through everything. Bill Green and the singers gone on before us, have led us as mentors and shining examples for our lives. He led 30b, and the lesson was closed with the class joining in “The Lord’s Prayer”.

Singing continued with the following leaders: Ewan Eddins 193; Jamira Jackson 518; Chris Nicholson 264t; Wayne Jones 76b; Wanda Gregg 408. The class sang 369, and Tim Taylor offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The class was called back to order for the afternoon session by Bill Hogan leading 539. Leaders: Morgan Bunch 514; Gary Padgett 501; Will Menas 348t, 285t; Ateven Snderson 154t; Kevin Dyess 142; Elliot Eddins 330t; Ewan Eddins 449; Todd Derstine and Regina Derstine 140; Elam Eddins 196; Dana Eddins 520; Sue Bunch 358; Ewan Eddins 99; Eric Eddins 29t; Tim Taylor 277 (for Darlu Nall); Kevin Eddins 569; Ethan Eddins 594; Mary Amelia Taylor 464; Crystal Menas 72; Ezra Eddins 70t; Tim Jones 584; Kevin Dyess 235; Evie Eddins 179; Stanley Smith 380t (in memory of W.L. Green).

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, Nate Green, Mary Amelia Taylor, Emily Eddins, Evie Eddins, and Edith Eddins led 323t as the closing song. Wayne Jones closed the convention with prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairmen—Nate Green, Emily Eddins, and Nicole Bowman; Arranging Committee and Secretary—Evie Eddins