Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Florida State Convention

Holiday Inn, Panama City, Florida

December 1-2, 2018

Saturday, December 1

The 51st session of the Florida State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Kevin Eddins leading 461. He then read from Psalms 40. The opening prayer was offered by Frank Strickland. Kevin Eddins then led 52t. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 31t; Evie Eddins 203; Aubrey Barfield 306; Mary Whitehurst 224; Bill Hogan 134; Morgan Bunch 98; Elliot Eddins 146; Shannan McKenzie 430; John Kelley 63; Beverly Dayton 454; Laura Gunter Kimel 573; Ewan Eddins 193. Ken Kelley was appointed to the memorial committee.


Kevin Eddins led 438b to bring the class together. Leaders: Tommie Spurlock 183; Geoffrey Brooks 133; Ralph Ward 478; Rachel Speer 411; Edith Eddins 54t; Gary Padgett 156; Samuel Williams 479; Russ Scholz 96; Dana Eddins 162.


The singing continued with Kevin Eddins leading 29b. Leaders: Alice Bejnar 408; Elam Eddins 383; Vickie Mariner 107; Stephen Huffman 365; Chris Nicholson 293b; Jewell Rowland 345t; Alice Sundberg 339; Daniel Williams 74t; Dean Jens 429; Ken Kelley 404; Eli Eddins 45b; Luke Strickland 100; Ellen Fournier 587; Barbara Jones 171; Ken Sundberg 457; Ethan Eddins 330t; Tim Jones 553; Sue Bunch 268b; Wayne Jones 187; Emily Eddins 128; Stanley Smith 391; Chip Westbrook 59; Jamie Kelley 140; Eric Eddins 331b; Loretta Jones 384. The class sang 369. Kennon Smith asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Kevin Eddins leading 592. Leaders: Frank Strickland 367; Ezra Eddins 210; McKenzie Flynn 559; Kennon Smith 239; Nathaniel Brown 91; Lloyd Jones 45t; Tor Bejnar 53; Daniel Williams 38t; Vickie Mariner 155; Samuel Williams 392; Nathaniel Brown 277. Announcements were made. The class sang 95b. Stephen Huffman offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, December 2

The Sunday session of the Florida State Sacred Harp singing convention was called to order by Kevin Eddins leading 70t. He read a scripture from Matthew 11. The opening prayer was offered by Chris Nicholson.

Leaders: Kevin Eddins 520; Oscar McGuire 444t; Evie Eddins 127; Aubrey Barfield 186; Wynette Smith 49b; Wayne Jones 104; Geoffery Brooks 268t; Lloyd Jones 571; Edith Eddins 132; Kennon Smith 189; Shannan McKenzie 163t; Brian Kelley 63; Dana Eddins 508; Dean Jens 471.


Kevin Eddins led 278b. Leaders: Chip Westbrook 500; Elam Eddins 304; Sue Bunch 306.

At this time the memorial lesson was held. Ken Kelley and Eli Eddins conducted the memorial lesson. Eli Eddins read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins, and then led 283. Ken Kelley read the following list of names of the deceased: Mike Jones—Alabama; Andy Worthington—Georgia; Thomas Carter—Maryland; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Adelaide Vaughn, Mel Rosenbaum, Amy Denison, and Edith Owen—Texas. Ken led 572. Brian Kelley closed the memorial session with prayer.

Leaders: Tommie Spurlock 145b; Ralph Ward 507b.


Kevin Eddins led 70t. Leaders: Jamie Kelley 112; Chris Nicholson 212; Will Kelley 384; Jewell Rowland 143; Stanley Smith 235; Loretta Jones 144; Barbara Jones 277; Ken Sundberg 288; Bill Hogan 588; Gary Padgett 503; Ken Kelley 86. The class sang 369. A blessing was asked before the noon meal by Geoffery Brooks.


The afternoon session was called to order by Aubrey Barfield leading 96. Leaders: Eli Eddins 507t; Ezra Eddins 223; Ethan Eddins 594; Eric Eddins 250; Emily Eddins 48t; Tommie Spurlock 574; Dean Jens 308; Chris Nicholson 264t; Stanley Smith 112 (for Margaret Spurlock).

Tommie Spurlock gave the financial report and announced that sufficient funds were collected to cover all expenses. He announced the new officers for next year as follows: Chairman—Ryan Bowman; 1st Vice Chairman—Oscar McGuire; 2nd Vice Chairman—Ken Kelley. He thanked everyone for their contribution to help make this singing a success.

Ryan Bowman, Oscar McGuire, and Ken Kelley led 323t as the closing song. Ken Kelley offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Kevin Eddins; Secretary—Aubrey Barfield