Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Historic St. John’s Church, Richmond, Virginia

Saturday, November 10, 2018

The 27th annual James River Convention was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November in the parish hall of St. John’s Church in Richmond, Virginia. The class was welcomed by Adrienne Robertson leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Les Updike.

A business session was held, and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Vice Chairman—Jeremy Wacksman; Treasurer—Bridget Camden; Secretary—Mary Wright; Arranging Committee—Stephen McMaster and Matt Ference.

Leaders: Bridget Camden 315; Pat Temple 58; Emily Owens Altman 127; Mary Wright 35; Stephen McMaster 38b; Les Updike 515; Matt Ference 551; Ari Lindenbaum 410t; Kelly Macklin 365; Ben Hartland 42.


The class resumed singing with Nora Miller leading 29t. Leaders: Kathy Manning 383; Susan Green 217; Cheri Neilson 546; John Fedderson 354t; Richard Green 162; Brenda Dunlap 477; Tim Gregg 540; Tom Ivey 485; Lynda Hambourger 486; Derek Lane 48t; Sharon Strong 340.

The memorial lesson was directed by Kelly Macklin and John delRe, who led 70t for the sick and shut-ins.

Leaders: Lydia Lewallen 371; Kyle Johnston 99; Chris Wolf 67; Leyland delRe 126; Nora Miller 564.


The class resumed singing with Tom Ivey leading 32t. Leaders: Chloe Summers 133; Hannah Mann 480; John delRe 263; Adrienne Robertson 148; Bridget Camden 385b; Pat Temple 195; Mary Wright 106; Stephen McMaster 269; Les Updike 503; Matt Ference 442; Clare Chapin 473; Ari Lindenbaum 229; Nora Miller 236. Les Updike led the class in prayer before the lunch recess.


The class resumed singing with Cheri Neilson leading 147 (ShH). Leaders: Kelly Macklin 297 (ShH); Ben Hartland 21 (ShH); Kathy Manning 114 (ShH); Susan Green 197 (ShH); John Fedderson 188 (ShH); Richard Green 424b (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 404t (ShH); Tim Gregg 157 (ShH); Tom Ivey 264 (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 254 (ShH); Sharon Strong 348b (ShH); Chris Wolf 12b (ShH); Leyland delRe 139 (ShH); Hannah Mann 45 (ShH); John delRe 180 (ShH); Clare Chapin 7b (ShH); Lydia Lewallen 152 (ShH); Kyle Johnston 420 (ShH); Derek Lane 242b (ShH); Nora Miller 441 (ShH); Emily Owens Altman 416 (ShH).


The class resumed singing with Adrienne Robertson leading 118 (ShH). Leaders: Cheri Neilson 300b (ShH); Tim Gregg 54 (ShH); Chris Wolf 310 (ShH); Sharon Strong 431 (ShH); John Fedderson 414t (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 161 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 322 (ShH); Ben Hartland 381 (ShH); Kathy Manning 187b (ShH); Susan Green and Richard Green 266 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 124 (ShH); Tom Ivey 162 (ShH); Emily Owens Altman 298t (ShH); Hannah Mann 140b (ShH); Martha Burns 288t (ShH); Bridget Camden 287 (ShH).

Adrienne Robertson thanked all who had a part in putting on the convention, and all those who participated. The James River Convention will meet next year on Saturday before the second Sunday in November (November 9, 2019). Adrienne Robertson led 22b (ShH) as the closing song. A prayer of dismissal was offered by Les Updike, which concluded the convention.

Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Vice Chairman—Jeremy Wacksman; Secretary—Mary Wright