Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Convention,
Fall Session, (Cooper Book)

Jarrell, Texas

September 29-30, 2018

Saturday, September 29

The Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Convention, Fall Session, was held on the fifth Sunday and Saturday before in September in Jarrell, Texas. The class was called to order by Kristie Powell leading 68b. The opening prayer was offered by Elder Sonny Huckaby. Kristie led 171, followed by Sonny Huckaby leading 558, Bruce Coates leading 575, and Beverly Coates leading 270.

Leaders: Al Rogers 541; Catherine Rogan 155; Lauren Owen 146; Donn Howard 484; Abby Huckaby 45t; Jeb Owen and Jackson Owen 514; Patrick Curran 388; Amy Peveto 500; Jackson Owen 186; Tammy Powell 142; Daniel Allcock 422b; Ellee Curran 367; Robert Vaughn 521; Liz Owen 299; Carter Cook 168; Diane Ross 53; Reed Coates 511b; Linda Booker 511t.


Sonny Huckaby called the singers back together leading 63. Leaders: Scott McCown 99; Vickie Cook 277; Mike Hinton 400; Ellen Ray 345t; Steve Luttinen 567; Lisa Matt 406; Ron Bernucho 571; Janie Short 430; Kit Alderson 47b; Michele Curran 416b; Kevin Powell 300; Emily Brown 140; Donald Ross 590; Kate Agnew 110; Jesse Latimer 200; Leon Ballinger 120; Tom Owen 122; Scott Curran 464; Gaylon Powell 486; Jeb Owen family 410; Al Rogers 505; Catherine Rogan 217; Amy Peveto 559; Robert Vaughn 573; Donn Howard 518; Daniel Allcock 68t. Donald Ross offered the blessing for the food.


Kristie Powell led 65 to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Ellen Ray 98; Reed Coates 139; Lauren Owen and Abby Huckaby 159; Kit Alderson 563; Kate Agnew 393; Ron Bernucho 507b; Olivia Powell 106; Vickie Cook 508; Jackson Owen 408; Mike Hinton 515; Emily Brown 86; Steve Luttinen 524; Lisa Matt 133; Jesse Latimer 189; Diane Ross 40; Carter Cook 427; Michele Curran and Ellee Curran 421.


Kristie Powell led 29b to bring the class together. Leaders: Tom Owen 369; Tammy Powell 222; Scott McCown 282; Linda Booker 293b; Donald Ross 211; Janie Short 112; Scott Curran 218; Olivia Powell 148; Leon Ballinger 297; Kevin Powell 47t; Gaylon Powell 543; Beverly Coates 96.

After announcements, Kristie Powell led 323t. Robert Vaughn offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, September 30

The Sunday session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention began with Kristie Powell leading 31b. The opening prayer was offered by Elder Sonny Huckaby. Kristie Powell led 272, followed by Sonny Huckaby leading 49t, Bruce Coates leading 179, and Beverly Coates leading 30t.

Leaders: Carter Cook 203; Olivia Powell 77t; Addison Bowles 573; Donn Howard 49b; Janie Short 276; Daniel Allcock 427; Sarah Huckaby 392; Riley Owen 293b; Amanda Bowles and Weston Bowles 99; Jackson Owen 53; Rick Foreman 35; Lauren Owen 39; Kevin Powell 36b; Ellee Curran 367; Tammy Powell 95b; Patrick Curran 60.


Sonny Huckaby brought the class to order by leading 100. Leaders: Vickie Cook 162; Greg Bowles 559; Abby Huckaby 45t; Charles Whitmer 218; Cheryl Foreman 470; Steve Luttinen 271b; Linda Booker 336b; Ron Bernucho 463; Emily Brown 38t; Tom Owen 168.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Sonny Huckaby opened the memorial with remarks about the purpose of this time and asked Michele Curran to speak and sing for the sick and shut-ins. After a short talk about the need to reach out to those on the list as well as their caregivers, Michele led 129 in honor of the following: Doug Webb, Myrl Jones, Azalea Barnett, Curtis Owen, Paul Wilson, Charlene Wallace, Ann Jett, and Amanda Lee.

Kevin Powell read a portion of the 100th Psalm, and led 122 in memory of the following deceased: Jemima Ward, Mel Rosenbaum, Amy Denison, and Peter Nichols—Texas; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Daphene Causey—Alabama; Julie Vea—Wisconsin. Elder Sonny Huckaby offered prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Ellen Ray 331b; Mike Hinton 544; Diane Ross 365; Scott Curran 196; Kate Agnew 30b; Donald Ross 111b; Catherine Rogan 192; Gaylon Powell 482; Michele Curran 183; Leon Ballinger 264b; Amy Peveto 411; Lisa Matt 290; Sonny Huckaby 450. Elder Huckaby asked a blessing for the food.


Kristie Powell led 176b to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Carter Cook 268t; Cheryl Foreman and Abby Huckaby 146; Riley Owen 142; Amanda Bowles 155; Silas Huckaby 442t (for Curtis Owen); Emily Brown and Reese Brown 434; Rick Foreman 273; Addison Bowles, Lauren Owen, Abby Huckaby, and Ellee Curran 159; Steve Luttinen 422t; Vickie Cook 335; Charles Whitmer 410; Janie Short 280; Patrick Curran 421; Greg Bowles 81; Sarah Huckaby 416t; Jackson Owen 215; Mike Hinton 461; Ron Bernucho 239; Kate Agnew 210; Donald Ross 419; Michele Curran 224; Diane Ross 112; Tom Owen 558; Catherine Rogan 177; Scott Curran 269; Amy Peveto 132; Kevin Powell 138t; Linda Booker 199; Daniel Allcock 422b; Gaylon Powell 137; Ellen Ray 279; Tammy Powell 553; Olivia Powell, Lauren Owen, and Abby Huckaby 348t.

After announcements, Kristie Powell led 69 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Carter Cook, and the class was dismissed.

Chairwoman—Kristie Powell; Vice Chairman—Sonny Huckaby; Secretaries—Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates