Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B.F. White Sacred Harp Singing Convention (J.L. White Revision)

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Sunday, September 16, 2018

The class was called to order by John Plunkett, who led 34t. Henry Johnson offered the opening prayer. John Plunkett then led 91b. Vice Chairman Russ Hanson led 101t and 49b. Secretary/Treasurer Sandra Wilkinson led 484t and 382b. Leaders: Alex Forsyth 30t, 152; Oscar McGuire 37b, 59; Malinda Snow 37t, 138b; Mary Brownlee 47b, 395b; Linda Thompson 119, 40; Henry Johnson 81t, 122; Helen Bryson 81b, 490b (for Alan Lambert and in memory of Raymond Hamrick).


The class was reassembled by Russ Hanson leading 32t. Leaders: Jerusha Wheeler 211, 87; Tom Hanson 100, 299; Carol Hanson 313, 491b; John Plunkett 154t, 292t; Russ Hanson 470, 222; Sandra Wilkinson 388, 517 (by request); Alex Forsyth 286b, 491t; Oscar McGuire 171, 293b; Malinda Snow 471, 516. John Plunkett asked a blessing before the noon meal.


John Plunkett brought the class to order leading 449b. Leaders: Mary Brownlee 418, 183; Linda Thompson 335, 334; Henry Johnson 480t, 503; Helen Bryson 549b, 224.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Sandra Wilkinson. She recalled events and some of the devoted people of this singing who are now deceased, but through their efforts, dedicated support, and refusal to give up, kept this singing going for many years. We want to remember and thank these dear ones for their commitment. And we, the singers of this particular music now, and our wonderful supporters, are still singing these songs here today. We also recognized the following sick and shut-ins: Alan Lambert and Karen Rollins, and Elder Rufus C. Brantley of Georgia, deceased. Tom Hanson led 540 in remembrance and recognition. The memorial was closed with prayer offered by Elder Jesse M. Roberts.

Leaders: Leslie Hanson 526, 512; Jerusha Wheeler 401, 298: Tom Hanson 36b, 146; Carol Hanson 461, 501b.

A business session was held to elect officers for the coming year. It was unanimously approved to retain the same officers. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Russ Hanson 317b; Jesse Roberts 35, 215; Nathan Rees 320, 344; Alex Forsyth 153; Henry Johnson 164; John Plunkett 544t (for Don Bowen and Judy Mincey). Following announcements, John Plunkett led 389t as the closing song. Malinda Snow dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson