Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention

Texas Christian Church, Clinton, Illinois

Saturday, September 15, 2018

The 34th annual Illinois Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Ryan Hill leading 59. Welcome and opening prayer were offered by Texas Christian Church pastor, Scott Marsh. The following officers and committee members were previously elected or appointed: Chairman—Ryan Hill; Secretary—Martha Tyner; Treasurer—Mark Graber; Chaplain—John Huffman; Arranging Committee—Janet Fraembs and Martha Tyner; Food Committee—Lori Graber and Terry Hogg; Registration—Jayne Bardsley.

Leaders: Terry Hogg 535; Lori Graber 150; Jonathon Smith 57; Barrett Patton 482; Ginny Landgraf 5 (MH); Lamar Schlabach 48t; Jan Ketelle 430; Dan Kreider 51; Penny Kujawinski 228; Mary Rogel 534; Jerry Gripshover 177 (MH); Rochelle Lodder 131 (MH); Stuart Ivey 276; Eileen Ferguson 180 (MH); James Page 139 (MH); Judy Hauff 84 (MH); Jim Helke 13 (MH); Roberta Strauss 441; Ted Mercer 332.


The class was called to order by Ryan Hill leading 84 (MH). The memorial lesson was conducted by Presley Barker and James Page. Presley Barker reminded us to keep in mind not only those missing from our class today, but also those in attendance who suffer from personal stresses and need our support. He read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Peggy Brayfield, Karen Hojnacki, Melanie Hauff, Michael Appert, Everett Rhine, Johanna Fabke, and Karen Rollins.

James Page read the following list of names of the deceased: Berkley Moore and Ann Sleeva—Illinois; Julie Vea—Wisconsin; Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Carol Belt and Donna Schleifer—North Carolina. The class sang “Berkley”. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by John Huffman.

Leaders: Don Bardsley 354t; Barbara Chopin 163b; Lou Kujawinski 212; Peggy Peryam 178; John Huffman and Katie Huffman 528; Paul Figura 121 (for people facing hurricane Florence); Dave Ressler 216; Shirley Figura 124 (MH); Presley Barker 191; Joan Aldridge 475; Diana Farrar and Peggy Peryam 268; Prisca Rice 122; Ginny Landgraf 53 (MH); Barrett Patton 336; Jan Ketelle 89 (MH); Dan Kreider 433; Mary Rogel 121 (MH); Lamar Schlabach 68b; Dave Ressler 29t; Penny Kujawinski 542; Ted Mercer 80 (MH); Eileen Ferguson 36b. Ryan Hill led 164 (MH), followed by spoken grace offered by John Huffman.


The class was called to order for the afternoon by John Huffman and Katie Huffman leading 350. Leaders: James Page 45 (MH); Stuart Ivey 391; Judy Hauff 127 (MH); Jim Helke 507 (in memory of Darrell Swarens); Lou Kujawinski 328; Terry Hogg 135 (MH); Lori Graber 315; Jerry Gripshover 496; Roberta Strauss and Barrett Patton 209; Jonathon Smith 200; Rochelle Lodder 169 (MH); Paul Figura “Hearne”; Joan Aldridge 198; Barbara Chopin 86; Presley Barker 362.


Ryan Hill called class together for the final session of the day by leading 338. Leaders: Don Bardsley 291; Prisca Rice 40; Janet Fraembs 56b (in memory of Berkley Moore); Peggy Peryam 87; Shirley Figura 155; John Huffman and Katie Huffman 49b; Stuart Ivey 30b; Lou Kujawinski 85; Penny Kujawinski 147 (MH); Jan Ketelle 175 (MH); James Page 334; Judy Hauff 411; Ginny Landgraf 98 (MH); Rochelle Lodder 167 (MH); Mary Rogel 556; Ted Mercer 170 (MH); Roberta Strauss 436; Dave Ressler 300.

The Chairman thanked all who contributed to the success of the day, in particular the Texas Christian Church and Pastor Marsh. The Treasurer reported that all expenses had been met. The Arranging Committee reported seventy-eight songs led by thirty-two leaders. Following announcements, the class sang 347 while taking the parting hand. John Huffman offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Ryan Hill; Secretary—Martha Tyner