Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Swannanoa Gathering Shape Note Singing

Warren Wilson College, Asheville, North Carolina

Saturday, July 21, 2018

The class gathered in Morris Pavilion at Warren Wilson College for the 12th annual singing following Old Time Music and Dance weeks of the Swannanoa Gathering. Sarah Kehrberg welcomed everyone and led 73b. Ron Pen offered opening prayer.

Leaders: Ron Pen 146; Chris Wilhelm 376; Jonathan Wood 65; Kevin Kehrberg 112; Mary Baumeister and Tristan Parker 375; Michael Spencer 354t; Leslie Booher 319; Libby Barker 48b; Matt Drumheller 448t; Andy Morse 31t; Diane Eskenasy 155 (for Polly McGilvra); Eli Snyder 171; Patty Judson 354b; Madeline Wadley 178; Esther Morgan-Ellis 38b; Andy Morse and guest 40 (dedicated to Jack Smith); Tatiana Hargraves 58; Jane Cannon 328.


Sarah Kehrberg brought the class back to order by leading 184 (CH). Leaders: Jonathan Wood 199 (CH); Marty Sullivan 312 (CH); Chris Wilhelm 402b (CH); Michael Spencer 397b (CH); Kevin Kehrberg 248 (CH); Leslie Booher 180 (CH) (in memory of Mary Ellen Schrock); Mary Baumeister and Tristan Parker 117 (CH); Ron Pen 87 (CH); Eli Snyder 279 (CH); Libby Barker 303 (CH); Diane Eskenasy 51 (CH); Patty Judson 493b (CH); Tatiana Hargraves 86b (CH); Jane Cannon 455b (CH). Ron Pen returned thanks for the noon meal.


The class reassembled with Sarah Kehrberg leading 13t (SoH). Ron Penn led 322 (SoH), and thanked all who had helped with dinner on the grounds, and the college for the use of Morris Pavilion. Leaders: Chris Wilhelm 173b (SoH); Matt Drumheller 276b (SoH); Kevin Kehrberg 56 (SoH); Michael Spencer 308 (SoH); Leslie Booher 276t (SoH); Andy Morse 72t (SoH); Eli Snyder 105 (SoH); Jonathan Wood 292 (SoH); Mary Baumeister 91 (SoH); Jane Cannon 76 (SoH). In a brief business meeting Sarah Kehrberg was re-elected as chairman and Ron Pen as vice chairman. Eli Snyder was elected secretary.


Leaders: Jane Cannon 56b; Tatiana Hargraves 455; Esther Morgan-Ellis 74t; Matt Drumheller 70b; Madeline Wadley 203; Jonathan Wood 34b; Libby Barker 350; Andy Morse 189 (CH); Leslie Booher 543 (CH); Eli Snyder 155 (CH); Kevin Kehrberg 168b (CH); Ron Pen 165 (CH); Mary Baumeister 41 (SoH); Sarah Kehrberg 49 (SoH); Michael Spencer 254 (SoH).

Following announcements, Sarah Kehrberg offered closing prayer. The officers led 267.

Chairman—Sarah Kehrberg; Vice Chairman—Ron Pen; Secretary—Eli Snyder