Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Northern Shenandoah Valley
Shenandoah Harmony Singing

Charles Washington Hall, Charles Town, West Virginia

Sunday, June 3, 2018

The 6th annual all-day Northern Shenandoah Valley Shenandoah Harmony singing was brought to order by Ben Hartland leading 397. David Giusti offered the opening prayer. The following officers were asked to serve: Secretaries—Joni Seidenstein and Adrian Mariano; Treasurer—Tom Ivey. All song selections are from the Shenandoah Harmony.

Leaders: Kelly Macklin 167; Adrian Mariano 423; Tom Ivey 417; Leyland delRe 192; Anders Fahey 113; Jonathan Een Newton 179; Brenda Dunlap 95; Julia Seidenstein 45b; Corinne Ducey 187; Mary Ann Daly 155; Sharon Strong 154; Eli Snyder 98; Graham DeZarn 416; Lucas Husted 114; Katy Hunter 186; Bridget Camden 171; Robin Banerji 411; Miriam Delirium 236t; Tim Gregg 316b; Ina Shea 348b; Dean Jens 269; Abby Beavin 100.


Myles Louis Dakan called the class together leading 10. Leaders: Joni Seidenstein 358; John delRe 178; Rachel Hall 401; Dick Patterson 453; Topher Lawton 9b; Joel Miller 457; Jessica Keyes 22b; Mike Spencer 147; David Giusti 139; Miranda Elliot-Rader 80.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Chris Wolf leading 143 for the following sick and homebound: Kacy Pate, Les Updike, Nancy Anderson, Paul Wilson, Ester Wildey, Roxanne Greenberg, Ray Rechenberg, and Hunter Jones.

Chris then led 218 for the following deceased: Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Keith MacAdam—Kentucky; Wayne Jens—Iowa; Ann Sleeva—-Illinois; Dr. Randolph Green-Georgia; Rev Charles Bennett—Missouri; Winter Acorn—Pennsylvania; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Nick Stanton—Massachusetts; Dona Dise—New York; Charles Wells—Minnesota; Julie Vea—Wisconsin; Nancy Graham—Maryland; Kit Halsted—Texas.

Leaders: Nora Miller 424; Thomas Ward 418; Ateven Snderson 392; Bev Yaeger 260t. A blessing for lunch was asked by David Giusti.


Rachel Hall led 251 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Dan Hunter 340b; Ben Sachs-Hamilton 254; Rachel Speer 105; Claudia Egelhoff 173; Erin Fulton 169; AnnaLeigh Smith 285; Ted Mercer 266; Karl Dise 124; Lydia Lewallen 247; Tristan Gordon 67; Jake Kiakahi 292; Dorothy Robinson 310; Barb Patterson 75; Skeet Surrency 180; Stefani Priskos 162; Dann Pell 270; Hal Kunkel 378b; Kyle Johnston 197; Alice Beattie 140b; Jerusha Wheeler 205; Chris Cotter 16; Stina Sutherland 243; Kerry Cullinan 296.


Kyle Johnston led 3b. Leaders: Barbara Swetman 196; Yosef Trachtenberg 201; Chloe Somers 60b; Sam Kleinman 41; Emmie Strassburg 245; Erica Martinez 53; Kathy Manning 3t, Barb Patterson 404t; Anna Leigh Smith 420t; Chris Wolf 309; Martha Burns 65t; Claudia Egelhoff 364; Erin Fulton 241t; Brenda Dunlap 385b; Stina Sutherland 363b; Ina Shea 443b; Alice Beattie 403; Myles Louis Dakan 246b; Kelly Macklin and Dan Hunter 138; Abby Beavin 77.

Announcements were made. Resolutions were made by John delRe. Ben Hartland led 129t as the closing song. David Giusti offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Ben Hartland; Vice Chairman—Graham DeZarn; Secretaries—Joni Seidenstein and Adrian Mariano