Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Seed and Feed Sacred Harp Singing

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Saturday, October 21, 2017

The 41st annual Seed and Feed Singing could not be held at its usual location, Emory Presbyterian Church, but will return next year. We all appreciated the hospitality of Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, which hosted the singing. The class was called to order by David Brodeur leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Judy Chambless. Leaders: David Brodeur 56b; Laura Akerman 85, 84; John Plunkett 73b, 321; Debora Gross 378t, 189; Kelly Morris 147t, 114; Lisa Bennett 65, 28t; Judy Chambless 472 (in memory of Hugh McGraw), 527; Andy Ditzler 27, 53; Joan Durdin 29t, 155; Tony Hammock 191 (for Virginia Dyer), 131t; Marianne “Peaches” Sansom 254, 236.


The class returned with David Smead leading 30t. A business session was held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Sandra Wilkinson; Vice Chairman—David Smead; Secretary—Laura Akerman.

Leaders: Jerusha Wheeler 350, 351; Eric Tweedy 292, 270; Judy Mincey 26, 534; Michael Walker 225t, 475; Karen Morris 273, 454; John Whittemore 40, 38b; Malinda Snow 512, 96.

A memorial lesson was held. Judy Mincey spoke and led 70t for the sick and shut-ins, including Virginia Futral, Virginia Dyer, Concetta Branson, Ron Bornick, and Chris Holley. Judy also spoke and led 327 in memory of the deceased, including Hugh McGraw, Julie Vea, George Snyder, and Charles Wells. The lesson was closed with prayer offered by John Plunkett.

Leaders: Sandra Wilkinson 168, 148; Robert Chambless 354t (in memory of Hugh McGraw), 34b.


Sandra Wilkinson brought the class back together by leading 300. Leaders: David Smead 291, 416 (noting the alto part contributed by Hugh McGraw); Amy Armstrong Wells 272, 411; Samuel Williams 322, 440; Andy Morse 353, 377; Matt Hinton 331, 330b; Anders Wells 71, 110; Henry Slack 47b, 181; David Brodeur 467; Laura Akerman 362; Kelly Morris and Bill Levisay 49b; Jerusha Wheeler 333; Lisa Bennett 196; Andy Ditzler 160b; Tony Hammock 112; Eric Tweedy 442; Judy Mincey 489; Michael Walker 380.


The class resumed singing with David Smead leading 398. Leaders: John Whittemore 107; Sandra Wilkinson 388; Amy Armstrong Wells 546; Samuel Williams 278b; Andy Morse 77t; Henry Slack 535; John Plunkett 198 (for Martha Ann Stegar).

Sandra Wilkinson led 46 as the closing song. Andy Morse dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Sandra Wilkinson; Vice Chairman—David Smead; Secretary—Laura Akerman