Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shenandoah Harmony Singing

Arlington, Virginia

Saturday, October 7, 2017

The 5th annual Baltimore/Washington Shenandoah Harmony All-Day Singing was called to order at 10:00 a.m. at the Women’s Club of Arlington by Josh Barnett, who welcomed the singers and led 17. All song selections are from The Shenandoah Harmony. Matt Roberts led 1b, and then offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Kelly Macklin 8; Les Updike 224; Brenda Dunlap 417; John delRe 9b; Nora Miller 77; Jim Strube 300b; Karen Strong 16; Sandra Cryder 3b; Joni Seidenstein 358.


Abigail Beavin called the class back together leading 18t. Leaders: Jim Glaser 258; Ulrike Brauneis 201; Abigail Beavin 266; Adrian Mariano 423; Kristen Christy 41; Josh Barnett 422; Clare Chapin 7b; Dann Pell 119t; Miranda Elliott-Rader 305; Mary Ann Daly 186; Liz Meitzler 385; Dean Jens 57; Bev Yaeger 424b; Miriam Delirium 65t; Steve Cackley 404b; Emmie Strassburg 22b; Lucas Husted 114.


The singing resumed with Miranda Elliot-Rader leading 129b and 129t. Leaders: Topher Lawton 177; Joel Menk 130; Eli Snyder and Patty Berry 136; Graham DeZarn 286; Rachel Speer 120t; Rachel Hall 274; Ateven Snderson 200; Chris Wolf 195; Ben Hartland 51; Brenda Dunlap 158t; Nora Miller 87; Jim Glaser 273; Kathy Manning 457; Matt Roberts 105; Sharon Strong 290; Les Updike 296. Matt Roberts asked a blessing before dinner.


The afternoon session began with Liz Meitzler leading 444t and 10. Leaders: Thomas Smith 78; Dann Pell 174; Rachel Speer 101; Joel Menk 206; Lucas Husted 76t; Miriam Delirium 288t; Steve Cackley 264b; Mary Ann Daly 456; Emmie Strassburg 6t; Dean Jens 364b; Kristen Christy 161; Clare Chapin 80; Adrian Mariano 171; Sandra Cryder 12b; Joel Miller 253; Rachel Hall 152; Ateven Snderson 312.


The day’s final session was called to order. Leaders: Patty Berry 158b; Graham DeZarn 236b; Kelly Macklin 376 (in memory of Eli Snyder’s cousin); Ulrike Brauneis 192; Chris Wolf 179; Abigail Beavin 413; John delRe 70t; Miranda Elliott-Rader 210; Topher Lawton 340b; Jim Strube 431; Joni Seidenstein 254; Thomas Smith 140b; Liz Meitzler 270; Matt Roberts 309.

Matt Roberts made closing remarks, and announcements were made. Graham DeZarn offered a resolution of thanks and gratitude for the day. He led 309 as the closing song, and then dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Matt Roberts; Vice Chairman—Graham DeZarn; Secretaries—Sandra Cryder and Les Updike