Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention,
Spring Session (Cooper Book)

Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, McMahan, Texas

April 29-30, 2017

Saturday, April 29

The annual Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention, Spring Session, was called to order by Janie Short, who welcomed everyone and led 59. The opening prayer was offered by Tom Owen.

Leaders: Scott Curran 68b; Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates 36b; Gary Rogan 276; Tammy Powell 553; Tom Owen 49b; Linda Booker 38t; Findley Ross 282; Ellie Curran 274t; Gaylon Powell 536; Hoss Curran 60; Liz Owen 293b; Silas Huckaby 356; Amy Peveto 38b; Ainsley Ross 540; Patrick Weatherington 511t; Tom Owen, Abby Huckaby, Addison Bowles, and Lauren Owen 367 (special request of Syble Adams); Robert Vaughn 521; Wendy Laubach 331b; Jackson Owen 53; Cheryl Foreman 95b (for Chris Brown and Judy Whiting); Riley Owen 142.


Janie Short called the congregation together leading 148. A business meeting was held and the following officers were elected: Vice Chairwoman—Kristie Powell; Secretaries/Arranging Committee—Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates. Janie Short turned the singing over to the new chairman, Scott Curran, who led 98.

Leaders: Kyle Hearn 146; Cornelia Stanton 336t; Owen Ross and Larkin Ross 143; Brenda Dunlap 61; David Brodeur 304; Elizabeth Stoddard 576; Scott McCown 99; Carol Selleck 54t; Barbara Hohenstein 294; Jesse Latimer 522; Ruth Wampler 444t; Robert Stoddard 84; Lindsey Kruse 47t; Andy Ditzler 524; Ryan Bowman 216; Laura Densmore 482; David McPherson 449; Rebecca Blumenthal 300; John Berendzen 214; Carol Huang 210; Chris Noren 486; Joel Bassett 559; Alice Beattie 277; Lori Rodgers 171. A prayer of thanksgiving for the meal was offered by Donald Ross.


Kristie Powell led 31t to start the afternoon session. Leaders: Bill Bailey 121; Donn Howard 505; Nancy Price 434; Reed Coates and Abel Coates 39; Diane Ross 132; Jon Giles 174; Josh Rogan, Jacob Rogan, and Canaan Pereira 82; Craig Averill 49t; Gloria Berendzen 73b; David Lee 278b; Addison Bowles 573; Rick Foreman 447t; Zach Rogan 288; Lauren Owen 515 (for Edith Owen); Stanley Smith 140 (for Tommie Spurlock); Ryan Ross 110; Tollie Lee 348t; Chris Nicholson 558; Ben Copenhaver 348b; Donald Ross 591; William Price 319.


Scott Curran led 32t to begin the next session. Leaders: Sonny Huckaby 400; Jeff Adcock and Canaan Pereira 543; Sonny Erwin 569 (in memory of Johnny and Delorese Lee); Sarah Huckaby 395b; Mike Hinton 544; Michele Curran 183; Leon Ballinger 280; Vivian Rogan 463; Amanda Bowles 198; Catherine Rogan 268t; Jeb Owen 133; Greg Bowles 81; Kit Alderson 427; Lisa Matt 587; Claire Steinman 47b.

Scott Curran led 323t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Robert Vaughn.

Sunday, April 30

The Sunday session of the Southwest Texas Convention began with Scott Curran leading 567. The opening prayer was offered by Jeff Adcock.

Leaders: Kristie Powell 203; Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates 442t (for Curtis and Edith Owen); Sonny Huckaby 450; Vivian Rogan 343; Leon Ballinger 222; Catherine Rogan 155; Lauren Owen 159; Carter Cook 168; Linda Luter 75; Abby Huckaby and Sarah Huckaby 99; Hoss Curran 60; Gloria Berendzen and Kristie Powell 63; Jackson Owen 31t; Diane Ross 300; William Price 416b; Ainsley Ross 467; Carol Selleck, Cornelia Stanton, and Jeff Adcock 96; Brody Ross 40; Barbara Hohenstein 563; Findley Ross 145t; Ruth Wampler 394; Silas Huckaby 464.


Scott Curran led 67 to bring the class together. Leaders: Ron Bernucho 128; Brenda Dunlap 273; Riley Owen 268t; Lindsey Kruse 213; Stephen Hoyt 393; Lynette Howard 133; Tollie Lee 553; Addison Bowles 500; Laura Densmore 311.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Kristie Powell read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Concetta Branson, Andy Worthington, Gayle Cowart, Karen Rollins, Tommie Spurlock, Michael Kay, Jane Goforth, Kevin Powell, Edith Owen, Curtis Owen, Myrl Jones, Azalea Barnett, and Crystal Meadows. Elder Jeb Owen made remarks about the singers who were unable to attend, and led 283.

Kristie read the following list of names of the deceased: Gravis Ballinger, Toney Smith, and Lavoy Smith—Alabama; John Bayer and Loraine Bayer—Ohio; Michael Sensor—Pennsylvania; Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, and B.M. Smith—Georgia; Janelle Davis—Illinois; Sister Frances Carr—Maine; Michael Winchester—Oklahoma; Joe Nall—Florida; Jimmy Foreman—Texas. Elder Sonny Huckaby talked of the deceased, and how it is needful and scriptural to mourn those who have passed away. Kristie led 381t in their memory. The memorial service was closed with prayer offered by Elder Jeb Owen.

Leaders: Ryan Ross 179; Rebecca Blumenthal 215; Donn Howard 507b; Nancy Price 571; Josh Rogan, Jacob Rogan, and Canaan Pereira 358; Carol Huang 414; Solon Gordon 137; Elizabeth Stoddard 57; Ryan Bowman 514; Alice Beattie 313; Andy Ditzler 192; Stanley Smith 210. A prayer of thanksgiving for the meal was offered by Stanley Smith.


Scott Curran and Kristie Powell led 104 to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Amy Peveto 54t; Joel Bassett 298; Cheryl Foreman 269; David Brodeur 365; Jon Giles 465; Wendy Laubach 422b; Jeff Adcock and Joe Mike Hodge 484; Chris Noren 229; Craig Averill 430; John Berendzen 279; David Lee 76b; Ellie Curran 274t; Ben Copenhaver 457; Charles Whitmer 218; Chris Nicholson 264t; Sonny Erwin 541; Rick Foreman 556; Donald Ross 36t; Lisa Matt 38t; Alex Hawk 240; Gaylon Powell 232, 235; Linda Booker 199; Tammy Powell and Laura Densmore 216; Gary Rogan, Catherine Rogan, Liz Owen, and Michele Curran 212; Tom Owen, Jeb Owen, Amanda Bowles, and Greg Bowles 299.

The officers led 6 (The Good Old Songs). The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Gary Rogan.

Chairman—Scott Curran; Vice Chairwoman—Kristie Powell; Secretaries—Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates