Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Kelly Day Memorial Cooper Book Singing

Carroll County 4-H Scout Building, Flora, Indiana

Saturday, October 29, 2016

The 9th annual session of the Kelly Day Memorial Cooper Book Singing was called to order by Brad Bahler leading 293b. Rob Root offered the opening prayer. The following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Brad Bahler; Vice Chairman—David Bahler; Secretary—Robert Bahler.

Leaders: David Bahler 293t; Samuel Sommers 54t; Ginny Landgraf 375; Erica Detemmerman 273; Will Fitzgerald 571; Jan May 575; Holly Austin 222; Naomi Frick and Shirley Frick 573; Jim Helke 367; Susan Holsinger 312; Aaron Jones 184b; Curtis Cook 333; John Hoerr 171; Karen Bahler 55; Mark Brown 572; Darrell Swarens 505; Linda Selph 411 (in memory of Janelle Davis); Rob Bahler 142.


John Bahler called the class back together by leading 76b. Leaders: David Bahler 546; Brad Bahler 38t; Samuel Sommers 350; Ginny Landgraf 378t; Erica Detemmerman 38b; Karen Bahler 61; Will Fitzgerald 331b; Jan May 511t; Holly Austin 392; Naomi Frick and Shirley Frick 335; Syble Adams 63; Jim Helke 229; Susan Holsinger 541; Aaron Jones 449; John Hoerr 306; Mark Brown 574. Mark Brown asked a blessing before the noon meal.


Rob Bahler called the class back to order leading 131t. Leaders: Darrell Swarens 96; Linda Selph 497; Amritpal Singh 587; Syble Adams 543; John Bahler 567; Samuel Sommers 450; Brad Bahler 95b (for Johnny Lee).

Johnny was hoping to come to this singing, but his health had deteriorated quickly. He went to be with the Lord four days later. It was Johnny’s desire to start a Cooper Book Singing in Indiana, and with his help we were able to do so. Henceforth this singing will be known as the Johnny Lee-Kelly Day Memorial Cooper Book singing. Ginny Landgraf led 421 (in memory of Janelle Davis) and Will Fitzgerald led 39 (for Johnny Lee).

Leaders: David Bahler 163t; Erica Detemmerman 189; Jan May 344; Holly Austin 41; Curtis Cook 260.


Karen Bahler led 563 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Naomi Frick and Shirley Frick 199; Jim Helke 503; Syble Adams 133; Aaron Jones 106; John Hoerr 47t; Amritpal Singh and Aaron Jones 239; Mark Brown and Syble Adams 559; Linda Selph 397; Robert Bahler 324; John Bahler 276.

Following announcements, Brad Bahler and Syble Adams led 527 as the closing song (also a favorite of Johnny Lee). The closing prayer was offered by Will Fitzgerald.

Chairman—Brad Bahler; Vice Chairman—David Bahler; Secretary—Robert Bahler