Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention

Texas Christian Church, Clinton, Illinois

Saturday, September 17, 2016

The 32nd annual Illinois Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Ryan Hill leading 84. The opening prayer was offered by Texas Christian Church pastor, Scott Marsh.

The following officers were previously elected or appointed: Chairperson—Ryan Hill; Secretary—Martha Tyner; Treasurer—Mark Graber; Arranging Officer—Janet Fraembs; Memorial Lesson—Don Bardsley and Darrell Swarens.

Leaders: Peggy Brayfield 63; Terry Hogg 142 (MH); Martha Tyner 147t; John Seaton 47t; Lori Graber 2 (MH); Carole Briggs 148; Les Sontag 178; Ginny Landgraf 82 (MH); Darrell Swarens 36b; Jan May 13 (MH); Patti Sontag 162 (MH); Presley Barker 131 (MH); Joan Aldridge 373; James Page 45 (MH); Barbara Chopin 313b; Nick Pasqual 333; Julie Vea 157; Becky Browne 214; Dave Ressler 323b; Jan Ketelle 180 (MH).


Ryan Hill called the class back to order by leading 338. Leaders: Jonathon Smith 56 (MH); Linda Selph 475; Lou Kujawinski 421; Don Bardsley 273; Penny Kujawinski 172 (MH); LaMar Schlabach 47b; Nelson Bond and Peggy Brayfield 384; Joan Aldridge 166; Ginny Landgraf 148 (MH); Carole Briggs 122; Jan May 20 (MH); John Seaton 63 (MH); Peggy Brayfield 139 (MH); Darrell Swarens 448t (in memory of Janelle Davis); Lori Graber 42.


Ryan Hill led 172 to bring the class together. Leaders: Terry Hogg 549; Patti Sontag 86; Nick Pasqual 116; Linda Selph 354t; Presley Barker 183; Jan Ketelle 448b (in memory of B.M. Smith); Les Sontag 87; Barbara Chopin 277; Becky Browne 192. As grace before lunch, Ryan Hill led 164 (MH), followed by a spoken grace.


Ryan Hill called the class back to order by leading 68b. Leaders: Janet Fraembs 474; Dave Ressler 385t.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Don Bardsley and Darrell Swarens. Don Bardsley read the following names of the sick and shut-ins: Karen Hojnacki, Doris Steinmetz, Berkley Moore, Melanie Hauff, Johanna Fabke, Gary Gronau, and Laura Densmore. He led 138b.

Darrell Swarens read the names of the deceased: Janelle Davis—Illinois; Charles Derleth—Missouri; S.T. Reed, Toney Smith, Steve Adams, Kermit Adams, and Elsie Moon—Alabama; B.M. Smith—Georgia; Max Stackhouse—Massachusetts; Louise Hotaling—Washington. Darrell read the poetry of 278t that we may heed the words, followed by the singing of the song. The memorial lesson closed with prayer offered by Don Bardsley.

Leaders: Julie Vea 481; Lou Kujawinski 131t; James Page 81 (MH); Penny Kujawinski 546; Jonathon Smith 187; Joan Aldridge 228; Lori Graber 174 (MH); Jan May 138 (MH); Becky Browne 147 (MH); Carole Briggs 162; John Seaton 106.


Leaders: Ginny Landgraf 81t; Darrell Swarens 507; Jason Hosfield 299; Nick Pasqual 195; Jan Ketelle 168; James Page 69 (MH); Linda Selph 430; Presley Barker 472; Barbara Chopin 268; Les Sontag 127 (MH); Dave Ressler 77 (MH); Terry Hogg 135 (MH); Patti Sontag 28b; Peggy Brayfield 551; Don Bardsley 295; Penny Kujawinski 300; Lou Kujawinski 217. Janet Fraembs requested the class sing 242 to commemorate the fact that we were meeting on Constitution Day. Ginny Landgraf led 242.

Ryan Hill thanked all who contributed to the success of the day, in particular: all who brought food and the Food Committee, Lori Graber and Terry Hogg. Announcements were made.

Ryan Hill led 347 as the closing song, while taking the parting hand. Terry Hogg offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Ryan Hill; Secretary—Martha Tyner