Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Goodshaw Sacred Harp Singing Day

Goodshaw Baptist Church,
Crawshawbooth, Lancashire, United Kingdom

Saturday, May 14, 2016

The 7th Goodshaw Sacred Harp Singing Day was held at Goodshaw Baptist Church, in the United Kingdom, on Saturday before the third Sunday in May. Chris Brown began the day by leading 52t. Harry Sidebottom welcomed singers to the church, and offered the opening prayer. Michael Walker conducted a singing school for the new singers present, in which he led 162, 39t, and 101t.

Leaders: Eva Striebeck 515, 171; Cath Ingham 135, 159; Jan Geerts 313t, 354t; Teresa Maguire 445; Richard Mayers 81t, 67; Joy Spreadborough 47t, 47b.


Judy Whiting called the class back together by leading 503 and 441. Leaders: Werner Ullah 49b, 37b; Katie Morag and Michael Walker 146; Eva Striebeck 36b, 42; Richard Mayers 564, 107; Jan Geerts 480, 91; Chris Brown 40, 35; Michael Walker 63, 401; Joy Spreadborough 49b, 59. John Hopkinson gave thanks for the noon meal.


Chris Brown called the class back to order, and led 28t and 113. Leaders: Teresa Maguire 176b, 65; Mark Wardlaw 370, 385t; Judy Whiting 350, 34b (for Paula Wardlaw’s birthday); Michael Walker 111b, 410b; Richard Mayers 334, 131t.

John Copperwheat and Arja Copperwheat spoke for the following deceased: Sylvia Smail—Edinburgh; Gillian Woodward, Dawn Smith, and Mike Spittal—London; Mary Newell—Dalton; Ian Whiting—Barrow on Humber; Eileen McDougall—France; Eileen Wilson—Nailsea; Steve Atkinson—Leicestershire; Kathleen Doss-Traywick—Alabama, USA; Oliver Kindig-Stokes—Pennsylvania, USA; Tom Robinson and Jerry Wright—Texas, USA.

They spoke for the following sick and housebound: Karen Turner, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Shelby Sampson, Melanie Hauff, Ian West, Roland Higson, Johnny Lee, Dolorese Lee, B. M. Smith, Dorothy Allen, Ruth Steggles, Sheila McMain, and Olivia Powell. They led 209.

Leaders: Chris Brown 148, 457; Werner Ullah 102; Cath Ingham 155, 128.


Cath Ingham called the class to order leading 141. Leaders: Mark Wardlaw 44; Eva Striebeck 133; Jan Geerts 497; Chris Brown 268; Teresa Maguire 106; Judy Whiting 72b; Richard Mayers 73b; Joy Spreadborough 31t; Werner Ullah 33b; Michael Walker 460, 84. It was reported that the Old Chapel was being repaired, and should be available for our singing in 2017.

Chris Brown and Judy Whiting led 323t as the closing song. Richard Mayers offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Chris Brown; Secretary—Cath Ingham