Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shady Grove Church (Cooper Book)

Dutton, Alabama

Saturday, October 3, 2015

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Shady Grove Church, Dutton, Alabama, on Saturday before the first Sunday in October was called to order by Syble Adams and Bro. Ben Barrentine leading 133. Tom Owen offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Rex Wilks 398; Rodney Ivey 567; Pam Wilkerson 505; Brad Bahler 546; Sonny Erwin 430; Janie Short 464; Vivian Rogan 559; Tommie Spurlock 594; Eddie Mash 273; Nathan Stewart 572; Hubert Nall 563; Ed Thacker 393; Claudene Townson 336t.


Syble Adams led 478 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Syble Adams, Pam Wilkerson, and Stanley Smith 140; Darlene Dalton 587; Tammy Powell 137; B.M. Smith 38t; Donald Ross 123b; Chris Holley 199; Bea Aaron 453b; Ray Rechenberg 575; Kevin Eddins and Ethan Eddins 35; Jim Pfau 210.

Syble Adams conducted the memorial lesson. The class called out names of deceased or sick and shut-in friends. The deceased remembered were as follows: Donna Ruth Durdin, Phillip Wootten, Earlene Chandler, Olivia Wootten Allen, Arthur Hall, Carl Frame—Alabama; Millard Lind, Daniel Sommers—Indiana; Joe Fothergill—Ohio; David Wampler—Pennsylvania; Litefoot—Georgia. The sick and shut-ins honored were Ernest Lee Hendrick, Anne Chalker, Amacia Smith, BeeGee Rechenberg, Jeff Adcock, and Stephanie Mulinax. Syble Adams and Dylan Feezell led “When All of God’s Singers Get Home”. Syble Adams, Darlene Dalton, and Myra Dalton led 312t.


The class was brought back to order by Scott Ivey leading 380t. Leaders: Emily Eddins 406; Ezra Eddins 47b; Eli Eddins 553; Elam Eddins 384; Ewan Eddins 507t; Dana Eddins 520; Evie Eddins 499; Cheyenne Ivey 511b; Sarah Trumbore 337; Nate Green and Norma Green 544; Elizabeth Gentry 571; Nicholas Thompson 192. Dennis George asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Mark Brown leading 573. Leaders: James Gingrich 50t; Henry Johnson 265b; Rick Foreman 76b; Karen Clark 514; Tom Owen 360; Ethan Eddins 282; Diane Ross 434; Cheryl Foreman 269; Eugene Forbes 203; Karen Bahler 55; Levon Wootten and Marlon Wootten 99; Matthew Lind 145b; Kathe Pilibosian 497; Denise Kania 392; Susan Cherones 300; Richard Mauldin 36b; Dylan Feezell 414; Judy Caudle 98; Gary Rogan 268t; Samuel Sommers 450; Stanley Smith 590; Dennis George 552; Don Clark 436; Shane Wootten 86; Loyd Ivey and Pam Wilkerson 116; Phil Summerlin 95b; Eddins family 96 (in memory of John Etheridge); Syble Adams, Tom Owen, Mary Ann Owen, Gary Rogan, Vivian Rogan, Donald Ross, and Diane Ross “Blissful Hope”.

Announcements were made. Mark Brown and Syble Adams led “‘Til We Meet Again” as the closing song. Shane Wootten dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Mark Brown; Secretary—Judy Caudle