Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Civic Center, Henderson, Texas

August 8-9, 2015

Saturday, August 8

The 160th session of The East Texas Sacred Harp Convention met at the Henderson Civic Center in Henderson, Texas on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order by John Morris leading 63. Gaylon Powell offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Tom George 480; Vickie Cook 293b; Will Fitzgerald 54t; Leon Ballinger 120; Chris Brown 95b; Adam Brasich 273; Tommie Spurlock 464; Buddy Ballinger 377b; Bess Fitzgerald 191; Bob McLemore 522; Judy Whiting 171; Stanley Smith 497; Ryan Bowman 137; Carter Cook 203; Rodney Ivey 559; Eddie Huckaby 40; Robert Handel 210; Tammy Powell 222; Larry Ballinger 224; Silas Huckaby 383; Dale Redmond 507b; Troxel Ballow 508; Sarah Huckaby 155; Earl Ballinger 217; Owen Ross 164. Mayor Pat Brack gave the singers a warm welcome from the city before recess.


Liz Owen led 189 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Chris Nicholson 264t; Daphene Causey 304; Jo Elmore 107; Sharon DuPriest 300; Findley Ross 146; Karen Rollins 220; Beverly Coates 380t; Donn Howard 505; Ainsley Ross 540; Shannan McKenzie 240; Gaylon Powell 543; Lauren Owen and Addison Bowles 159; Kris Wiggins 388; Reba Windom 478; Ryan Ross 402; Janie Short 544; Sue Bunch 274t; Kay Weidner 143; Cory Winters 198; Morgan Bunch 98; Aubrey Barfield 214; Priscilla Wiggins 463; Kevin Powell 142. Gary Rogan asked a blessing before the noon meal.


John Morris led 58 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Jeb Owen 96; LuAnn Thomas 303; Jerry Ryan 408; Olivia Powell 36b; Catherine Rogan 192; Sonny Erwin 569; Gary Rogan 567; Crystal Meadows 168; Ben Copenhaver 471; Bruce Coates 571; Donald Ross 591; Jackson Owen 53; Tom Owen 416t; Scott Curran and Reba Windom 196; Baron Powers 239; Diane Ross 132; Michele Curran 129; Cassie Allen and Jeb Owen 514; Ron Bernucho 572; Riley Owen 47b; Amanda Bowles 179.


John Morris led 73t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Greg Bowles 268t; Charlie Soape 127; David Rousseau 447t; Joan Smith 49t; Robert Vaughn 341; Jeb Owen, Zachary Powell, and Crystal Meadows 133; Troxel Ballow 148; Owen Ross 376; Bob McLemore 337; Jo Elmore 367; Liz Owen 470; Donn Howard 484; LuAnn Thomas 65; Jerry Ryan 111t; Will Fitzgerald and Robert Vaughn 38t.

Gaylon Powell led 323t as the closing song. Robert Vaughn dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, August 9

The Sunday session of The East Texas Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by John Morris leading 421. The morning prayer was offered by Tom Owen.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 356; Adam Brasich 378b; Karen Rollins 30b; Ryan Ross 404; Stanley Smith 405; Janie Short 430; Brody Ross 78; Daphene Causey 500; Rick Foreman 179; Leon Ballinger 588; Henry McGuire 464; Findley Ross 401; Aubrey Barfield 200; Sharon DuPriest 212; Amanda Bowles 68t; Drew McGuire 563; Wanda Gregg 573; Buddy Ballinger 377t; Greg Bowles 38b; Larry Ballinger 215; Ryan Bowman 172; Judy Whiting 72; Reba Windom 505; Tom George 433.


John Morris led 31t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Earl Ballinger 89; Eddie Huckaby 323b; Shannan McKenzie 154b; Kris Wiggins 60; Carter Cook 288; Chris Brown and Stanley Smith 268b; Tommie Spurlock 98; Will Fitzgerald 411; Jackson Owen 274t; Robert Handel 511t; Tammy Powell 217; Bess Fitzgerald 131t; Cory Winters 112; Dale Redmond and Heather Redmond Goodgion 540; Chris Nicholson 290; Beverly Coates 343; Sue Bunch and Morgan Bunch 516; Kay Weidner 82.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Crystal Meadows and Gaylon Powell. The list of names of the sick and shut-ins was read by Crystal Meadows, and she led 68b in honor of the following: Myrl Jones, Dorothy Price, Frank Price, John Hopkinson, Virgie Toller, Marion Grant, Virginia Glass, Cath Tyler, S.T. Reed, Coy Ivey, Wayne Reed, Margaret Spurlock, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, and Sam Craig.

Gaylon Powell spoke and read the list of names of the deceased. He led 77t in memory of the following: Kate Davis—Ireland; Raymond Hamrick and Josephine Denney—Georgia; Randall Cathey—Oklahoma; Evelyn Harris and Betty Wright—Alabama. The memorial service was concluded with prayer offered by Greg Averill.

Leaders: Priscilla Wiggins 512; Ben Copenhaver 526; Riley Owen and Silas Huckaby 171; Kevin Powell 126; Catherine Rogan 99; Sonny Erwin and Rodney Ivey 113; Lauren Owen and Addison Bowles 146. Stanley Smith asked a blessing before the noon meal.


John Morris led 53 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Olivia Powell 106; Ainsley Ross 159; Drew McGuire 54t; Gary Rogan 48t; Donald Ross 539; Baron Powers 79; Diane Ross 300; Cassie Allen 355; Henry McGuire 229; Bruce Coates 575; Sarah Huckaby 76b; Michele Curran 140; Tom Owen 138t; Crystal Meadows 553; Scott Curran 218; Joan Smith 100; Gaylon Powell 183; Morgan Bunch 269; Robert Vaughn 276; Charlie Soape 47b; David Rousseau 119; Rick Foreman and Cheryl Foreman 385t; Will Fitzgerald and Bess Fitzgerald 39; Chris Brown 30t; Judy Whiting 176t; Reba Windom 572; Cory Winters 182; Kris Wiggins and Priscilla Wiggins 189; Carter Cook 384; Chris Nicholson 558.

Donald Ross led 496t as the closing song, and then offered the closing prayer.

Note: There were 326 people from fourteen states and one country who attended the convention. Eighty-one leaders led 173 songs. There were forty people who attended the social, and sang a new tune by Cory Winters entitled “Lee Creek”, followed by singing from the 2012 Cooper Book.

Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts