Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Capitol City Shape Note Singing

Loeb Reception Center, Montgomery, Alabama

Thursday, July 16, 2015

The annual Capitol City Shape Note Singing was held at the Loeb Reception Center, Montgomery, Alabama, on the third Thursday in July. Four books were used during the day as follows: The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition; The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Revision (CB); The Christian Harmony (CH); and The Colored Sacred Harp (CSH). Bill Hogan called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. by leading 455t/b (CB). The director of Old Alabama Town, Marion Baab, and Joey Brackner of the Alabama Center for Traditional Culture welcomed the singers to Montgomery. Bill Hogan led 36b (CB). The morning prayer was offered by Tommy Spurlock.

Leaders: Robert Vaughn 64 (CB); Joey Brackner 137 (CB); Kevin Eddins and Ethan Eddins 76b (CB); Ewan Eddins 70t (CB); Evie Eddins and Callie Smith 373 (CB); Nancy Hogan 464 (CB); Rebecca Over 514 (CB); Callie Smith 378b (CB); Wynette Smith 507b (CB); Barbara Jones 276 (CB); Chita Blakeley 83b (CB); Jillian Parris and Bill Hogan 179 (CH); Mary Amelia Taylor 50 (CH); Steve Grauberger 117 (CH); Tim Taylor 322 (CH); Stanley Smith 51 (CH); Karen Clark 189 (CH); Eli Eddins 58b (CH); Billy See 91 (CH); Judy Chambless 58t (CH).


Wendy Anderson brought the class back to order by leading 101t. Leaders: Ava Bohannon 143; Tim Taylor 39 (t? b?) (in honor of Christine Keeble); Robert Chambless and Chris Parris 384; Sam Wright 373; David Ivey 358; Wayne Jones 488; Ann Gray 178; Linda Thomas 131b; Vickie See 354b; Audrey Blakeley 35; John Tyler Blakeley 67; Jonathan Blakeley 383; Gary Padgett 442; Bill Hogan 6 (CSH); Joey Brackner 24 (CSH); Robert Vaughn 61 (CSH); Mary Amelia Taylor 4 (CSH); Rebecca Over 31 (CSH); Steve Grauberger 25b (CSH); Karen Clark 12 (CSH); Stanley Smith 87 (CSH). Jonathan Blakeley offered the blessing before the noon meal.


Bill Hogan brought the class back to order leading 287 (CB). Stanley Smith led the class in singing “Lord, Give Me Just A Little More Time”. Leaders: Elam Eddins 282 (CB); Wynette Smith 146 (CB); Robert Vaughn 453b (CB); John Tyler Blakeley 492 (CB); Rebecca Over 156 (CB); David Weaver and Ezra Eddins 159 (CB); Emily Eddins and Kathrine Weaver 85 (CB); Callie Smith 280 (CB); Gary Padgett 170 (CH); Sam Wright 372 (CH); Evie Eddins 326 (CH); Karen Clark 168 (CH); Nancy Hogan 214 (CH); Stanley Smith 54 (CH); Elam Eddins 89 (CH); David Weaver 361 (CH); Evie Eddins 198 (CH); Mary Amelia Taylor 258 (CH); Deborah Boykin 81t; Dana Eddins 39t; Billy See and Vickie See 163b; Robert Vaughn 490; Tim Taylor 474; Tommy Spurlock 475; Joey Brackner 47b; Judy Chambless 389; Evie Eddins 183; David Ivey 440; Ezra Eddins 89.

After announcements, Bill Hogan, Judy Chambless, Stanley Smith, and Joey Brackner led 56t as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairman—Nancy Hogan; Secretary—Judy Chambless