Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing
(Cooper Book/The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision)

New Harmony Community Center, New Harmony, Texas

Saturday March 7, 2015

The 36th session of the Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Curtis Jones leading 406 (CB). David Jones offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Curtis Jones 461 (CB); Tammy Powell 553 (CB), 142 (CB); Don Ross 67 (CB) (in memory of A.A. Smith), 148 (CB); Sonny Erwin 569 (CB), 464 (CB); Judy Whiting 268t (CB), 47t (CB); Olivia Powell 36b (CB), 171 (CB); Myrl Jones 491 (CB), 183 (CB); Tina Walston 571 (CB), 573 (CB); Chris Brown 411 (CB), 95b (CB); Diane Ross 168 (CB), 300 (CB).


Tammy Powell called the class back together by leading 478 (CB). Committee appointments were made as follows: Nominations Committee—Sonny Erwin and Chris Brown; Memorial Committee—Don Ross and Robert Vaughn.

Leaders: Priscilla Wiggins 472, 574 (CB); Crystal Meadows 99 (CB), 505 (CB); Gaylon Powell 343 (CB), 384 (CB) (in memory of Lawson Smith); John Beard 58 (CB); 76b (CB).

The memorial lesson was conducted. Don Ross led 558 (CB) for the following sick and shut-ins: Mary Newell, Ann Lloyd-Davis, Leo Stanley, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Jane Goforth, Jimmy Foreman, Azalee Barnett, and Marcelene Hardy.

Robert Vaughn led 503 in memory of the following deceased: Kate Davis—Ireland; Cyril Guy—Wales; Dorothy Williams—United Kingdom; Wilton Leroy Wyatt—Minnesota; Raymond Hamrick and Joyce Harrison—Georgia; Sallie Foreman—Texas. Robert Vaughn closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Kevin Powell led 138t (CB) and 522 (CB) (in memory of Myra Palmer). David Jones offered the noon prayer.


Curtis Jones led 285t (CB) to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 511t (CB), 450 (CB); Sonya Kirkham 152 (CB), 54t (CB); Kristie Powell 210 (CB), 543 (CB); Peggy Ray 39 (CB), 507t (CB); Kris Wiggins 268b (CB), 192 (CB); David Jones 507b (CB) (in memory of Major Jones), 463 (CB) (in memory of Granny Smith); Robert Vaughn 42 (CB), 36t (CB); Margaret Rounsaval 112 (CB), 87 (CB); Gaylon Powell 232 (CB), 235 (CB) (by request).

A business meeting was held. The Treasurer reported that all expenses were met. The Nomination Committee gave their recommendations as follows: Chairman—Rick Foreman; Vice Chairman—Crystal Meadows; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Treasurer—Barbara Smith; Assistant Treasurer—Sue Utz; and Chaplin—David Jones. The reports were approved, and the business session was closed.

Leaders: Chris Brown 133 (CB), 30t (CB); Judy Whiting 318, 72 (CB); Myrl Jones, David Jones, Curtis Jones, Sue Utz, and Debbie Wallace 189; Diane Ross 299 (CB); Priscilla Wiggins 408 (CB); Sonny Erwin 489; Kristie Powell 385b; Tina Walston 45t (CB); Kevin Powell 178; Don Ross 284; Olivia Powell 274t; Cheryl Foreman 101b (CB); Peggy Ray 32t (CB); Crystal Meadows 567 (CB); Sonya Kirkham 344; Gaylon Powell 313 (CB).

Curtis Jones led 62 (CB) as the closing song. David Jones offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Curtis Jones; Secretary—Tammy Powell