Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of Georgia Singing

State Botanical Garden of Georgia, Athens, Georgia

Sunday, February 22, 2015

The 42nd meeting of the University of Georgia Singing was held at the Visitor’s Center of the State Botanical Garden in Athens, Georgia, on the fourth Sunday in February. This singing is notable as it is the only annual singing that uses The Social Harp, first published in 1855.

John Hollingsworth opened the session leading 119 (ScH), and offered the opening prayer.

A business session was held and the previous officers were re-elected as follows: Chairman—John Hollingsworth; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretary—Shannon Primm. Jane Spencer was appointed as the Arranging Officer.

Leaders: John Hollingsworth 250 (ScH); Michael Spencer 37 (ScH), 87 (ScH); Shannon Primm 61b (ScH), 183 (ScH); Jane Spencer 60 (ScH), 141 (ScH); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 113 (ScH), 155 (ScH); Nathan Rees 61t (ScH), 184 (ScH); Lauren Bock 50 (ScH), 182 (ScH); Oscar McGuire 34 (ScH); Bill Hollingsworth 159 (ScH), 31 (ScH); Chris Wilhelm 154 (ScH), 22 (ScH); Mike Richards 28 (ScH), 44 (ScH); John Plunkett 134 (ScH), 82 (ScH); Jonathan Smith 107 (ScH), 170 (ScH); Margie Dietz 66 (ScH), 86 (ScH); Richard DeLong 228 (ScH), 23b (ScH); John Garst 51 (ScH), 35 (ScH); Robert Kelley 227 (ScH), 19 (ScH).


The class was called back to order by Nathan Rees leading 194 (ScH). Leaders: Michael Spencer 200 (ScH); Karen Redwine 114 (ScH), 63 (ScH); Jane Spencer 53 (ScH); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 49 (ScH); Lauren Bock 139 (ScH); Oscar McGuire 59b (ScH); Bill Hollingsworth 52t (ScH); Chris Wilhelm 135 (ScH); Mike Richards 99 (ScH); John Plunkett 218t (ScH); Jonathan Smith 216 (ScH); Margie Dietz 156 (ScH); Richard DeLong 137 (ScH); Robert Kelley 29 (ScH); Karen Redwine 219 (ScH).


During the afternoon session, the class sang from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Leaders: John Hollingsworth 37b; Michael Spencer 166; Shannon Primm 186 (for Elsie Hollingsworth); Jane Spencer 75; Christy Sinksen 448t; Bill Hollingsworth 236; Jennifer McDaniel 59; Robert Kelley 470; Karen Redwine 312b; Kevin Kelley 195; Lauren Bock 296; Mike Richards 193; Nathan Rees 351; Oscar McGuire 276; Joanna Smolko 86; John Plunkett 160b; Richard DeLong 39b; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 202.


John Hollingsworth led 461 to call the class together. Leaders: Kate Friesen 277; Jane Spencer and Mike Richards 434; Christy Sinksen, Jennifer McDaniel, and Sage Woodroff 47b; Jonathan Smith and Nathan Rees 126; Scott Kemp and Robert Kelley 72b; Lauren Bock and Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 77b. Following announcements, Lauren Bock led 347 as the closing song.

Chairman—John Hollingsworth; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretary—Shannon Primm