Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Year’s Day Singing

Holy Trinity Church, Mapperley, Derbyshire, United Kingdom

Thursday, January 1, 2015

The annual New Year’s Day Singing was held at Holy Trinity Church, Mapperley, Derbyshire, United Kingdom. The class was called to order by Helen Brown leading 52t. Erin Johnson-Hill offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Helen Brown; Vice Chairman—Ted Brown; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders; Arranging Committee—Judy Whiting and Chris Brown.

Leaders: Ted Brown 511t (CB); Margaret Gillanders 350; Chris Brown 229; Michael Walker 45t (CB); Mark Wardlaw 336t (CB); Erin Johnson-Hill 411 (CB); Ruth Steggles 171; Lin James 85; Joe Vickers 63; Rosalind Oldham 84; Ed Richardson 52b; Ian West 182; Hannah Land 98 (CB); Richard Percival 573 (CB); Ed Paton-Williams 559 (CB); Cath Ingham 155; Karen Turner 73t; Benny Ross 441; Chris Brown 31t; Steve Fletcher 392 (CB); Julie Russell 30t; Judy Whiting 268b (CB); Mark Wardlaw 114 (CB); Hannah Land 383; Michael Walker 99. Grace for the mid-day meal was offered by Jonathan Stanyon.


Judy Whiting reconvened the class leading 176t. Leaders: Richard Mayers 141; Helen Brown 349; Ed Paton-Williams 587 (CB); Lin James 571 (CB); Ted Brown 133 (CB); Sarah West 572 (CB); Scott Lewin 569b; Rosalind Oldham 575 (CB); Joe Vickers 505 (CB); Karen Turner 270; Ed Richardson 222 (CB); Erin Johnson-Hill 340.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Gillian White. The following sick and housebound were named: Madge and family, Sister Pippa, Sue Dann, George Player, Anna Rigby-Wild, Shelby Sampson, Steve Harrison, Ian McDougall, Stewart Morris, and Alison Mitchell Zunklei. The following deceased were remembered and honored: Flo Charles, Mick Finney, Maggie Boyle, Dorothy Williams, Raymond Hamrick, Jim Vickers, Geoffrey Nathan, Dave Howes, Bill Kerridge, Danny Arms, and Margaret Long. Michael Walker led 482 for all the above named, and closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Margaret Gillanders 546; Ian West 384; Steve Fletcher 87; Cath Ingham 148; Benny Ross 476 (CB).


Joe Vickers led 497 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Richard Mayers 82b; Sarah West 82t; Scott Lewin 162; Margaret Gillanders 500 (CB); Ruth Steggles 411; Mark Wardlaw 408; Erin Johnson-Hill 426t; Chris Brown 163t; Hannah Land 392; Karen Turner 38t (CB); Ed Paton-Williams 428 (CB); Benny Ross 318; Ed Richardson 502; Michael Walker 486 (CB); Rosalind Oldham 488; Ian West 140 (CB).

Helen Brown and Ted Brown led 347 as the closing song. Simon White dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Helen Brown; Vice Chairman—Ted Brown; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders