Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shady Grove Church (Cooper Book)

Dutton, Alabama

Saturday, October 4, 2014

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Shady Grove Church, Dutton, Alabama, on Saturday before the first Sunday in October was called to order by Syble Adams leading 31b and 478. Bro. Ben Barrentine welcomed the class. Ben Barrentine and Syble Adams led 63. Jeff Adcock offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Jeff Adcock.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 286b; Daniel Wooten 518; Bea Aaron 559; Wayne Jones 395b; Martha Beverly 140; Nate Green and Norma Green 380t; Riley Lee 378b; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 573; Karen Bahler 55.


The class was brought back to order by Shane Wootten leading 101t. Leaders: Syble Adams 323b (for Carl Frames); Brad Bahler 546; Scott Ivey 292b; Elene Stovall 478; Bob Borcherding 444t; Pam Wilkerson and Loyd Ivey 505, 540; Angela Myers 464; Will Fitzgerald and Bess Fitzgerald 176b; Darlene Dalton 587; Bill Beverly 484.


Shane Wootten led 36b to bring the class together. Leaders: Syble Adams, Claudene Townson, Virginia Glass, Shane Wootten, Eloise Wootten, Larry Wootten, and Carolyn Carroll 511b; Syble Adams and Jeff Adcock “When All of God’s Singers Get Home”; Ray Rechenberg 133; Judy Caudle 497; David Casenhiser 96; Chris Holley and Kathe Pilobosian 563; Johnny Lee 95; Henry Johnson 199. Riley Lee returned thanks before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Syble Adams, Rodney Ivey, and Mark Brown leading 82. Leaders: Chris Coughlin 571; Sarah Trumbore 65; Jim Aaron 47b; Rhonda Arnold 138t; Hubert Nall 84; Holly Hauck and Elizabeth Barlow 392; Jeff Adcock 397; Samuel Sommers 486; Barbara VanderJagt 282; Len VanderJagt 38b; Karen Clark 514; Dylan Feezell 567; Anne Missavage 463; Steven Schmidgall 391; Don Clark 526; Gillian Inksetter 465; Myra Dalton 137; Susan Cherones 300; Mark Brown “Sweet Beulah Land”; Syble Adams, Darlene Dalton, and Myra Dalton “Oh Sing of Heaven”; Jeff Adcock, Syble Adams, and Laura Densmore 543; Sonya Lee and Johnny Lee 31t (for Delorese Lee).

The class sang 145b as the closing song. Chris Holley offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle