Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mountain Heritage Day

Western Carolina University,
Cullowhee, Jackson County, North Carolina

Saturday, September 27, 2014

The following officers had been appointed to serve: Chairman—Mike Nichols; Vice Chairman—Judy Mincey; Secretary—Mary Baumeister.

In the morning session, all song selections were from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Mike Nichols welcomed everyone to the 40th year at Mountain Heritage Day. Judy Mincey led 31t. Ed Smith offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Judy Mincey 61; Mary Baumeister 34b; Claudia Dean 33t; Robert Varkony 68b; Ken George 569b; Coy Coggins 354b; Dan Huger 99; Will Peebles 59; Nick Gattis 47b; Mike Spencer 166; Anne Ransom and Chris Wilhelm 373; Annie Harlow 155; Patty Judson and Annie Harlow 86; Anne Ransom 101t; Mike Nichols 324. Dr. James Dooley welcomed the class to the university, and led 127.


Leaders: Judy Mincey 49t; Ed Smith 45t; Bruce Frazier 159; Sarah Jane Thomas 82b; Steve Walker 107; June Mincey 178 (by request); Mary Baumeister 467; Claudia Dean 87; Robert Varkony 49b; Ken George 235; Coy Coggins 108t; Dan Huger 72b; Will Peebles 58; Mike Spencer 278t; Chris Wilhelm 500. Mike Nichols offered the grace for lunch.


During the afternoon session, song selections were from The Christian Harmony, 2010 Edition. Mike Nichols welcomed the singers to the Christian Harmony session of the singing, and led 283 (CH).

Leaders: James Dooley 255 (CH); Mary Baumeister 31t (CH); Claudia Dean 71 (CH); Robert Varkony 76b (CH); Ken George 149 (CH); Will Peebles 51 (CH); Mike Spencer 163t (CH); George Reynolds 55b (CH); Steve Walker 131 (CH); Chris Wilhelm 208b (CH); Patty Judson and Chris Wilhelm 171 (CH); Annie Harlow 516 (CH); Becky Walker 293 (CH); Judy Mincey 50 (CH); Sarah Jane Thomas 225b (CH); Ed Smith 221t (CH).


Leaders: Mary Baumeister 61t (CH); Claudia Dean 174t (CH); Robert Varkony 105b (CH); Ken George 189 (CH); Nick Gattis 184 (CH); Will Peebles 344 (CH); Mike Spencer 225t (CH); Steve Walker 167t (CH); George Reynolds 215 (CH); Chris Wilhelm 35b (CH) (for Betty Swanton); Patty Judson and Chris Wilhelm 214 (CH); Becky Walker (by request) 67b (CH); Judy Mincey 543 (CH).

Mary Baumeister led 222t (CH) as the closing song. Edna Vickers offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Mike Nichols; Vice Chairman—Judy Mincey; Secretary—Mary Baumeister