Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B.F. White Sacred Harp Singing Convention (1911 J.L. White Revision)

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

September 21, 2014

The annual singing was called to order by John Plunkett leading 30t. The opening prayer was offered by Charles Woods. John then led 31t.

Leaders: Russ Hanson 72b; Sandra Wilkinson 316, 334; Helen Bryson 212, 490b; Charles Woods 540, 341; Judy Mincey 54t, 55t; Oscar McGuire 171, 75; David Brodeur 182, 484t; Rebecca Over 479b, 491b; Malinda Snow 491t, 485t; Mary Brownlee 495, 47b; Martha Ann Stegar 276, 519.


The class was called back together by Russ Hanson leading 300. A business session was held to elect officers. It was decided unanimously to retain the same officers as follows: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Carol Hanson 476, 548b; Andy Morse 487t, 512; John Hollingsworth 480t, 481b; Kathy Smith 277, 159; Rita Haley 63, 239; Tom Hanson 508t, 299; Wesley Haley 45t. John Hollingsworth asked the blessing for the food at the lunch table.


John Plunkett brought the singing class back to order leading 114t. Leaders: Faith Riley 81t, 33b; Jesse Roberts 175, 487b; Micah Roberts 99, 91t.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Judy Mincey. Judy beautifully and reverently led 501b. The sick and shut-ins included Hope Meek, Raymond Hamrick, and Henry Johnson. The list of deceased were Jetha Brooks, Carlene Griffin, Teenie Moody, Reuben Ball, Junie Wooten, Joanne Polentz, Gladys Loner, and Hermon Wilkinson-Georgia; Shelbie Sheppard, Lou Cotney, and Betty Wright-Alabama. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Jesse Roberts.

Leaders: John Plunkett 284t; Debora Grosse 284b, 155; Russ Hanson 222; Sandra Wilkinson 448t; Malinda Snow 511; Oscar McGuire 293b; Kathy Smith 502; Rebecca Over 503; Andy Morse 486t; Mary Brownlee 496b; Carol Hanson 488b; Tom Hanson 447t; Faith Riley 548t; Micah Roberts 138b; Jesse Roberts 139; Debora Grosse 489t; Rebecca Over 501t; Laura Akerman 517, 526, 547t.

Following announcements, John Plunkett led R26 as the closing song. The departing prayer was offered by Malinda Snow.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Russ Hanson; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson