Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing
(Cooper Book/The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision)

New Harmony Community Center, New Harmony, Texas

Saturday, March 8, 2014

The 35th session of the Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by David Jones leading 463 (CB). Curtis Jones offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: David Jones 406 (CB); Curtis Jones 45t (CB); Tammy Powell 217 (CB), 142 (CB); Gaylon Powell 383 (CB) (in memory of A.A. Smith, Jr.), 384 (CB) (for Lawson Smith); Judy Hughes 580 (CB), 341 (CB); Rick Foreman 427 (CB), 268b (CB); Kris Wiggins 365 (CB), 442t (CB); Myrl Jones 142 (CB), 491 (CB); Kristie Powell138t (CB), 514 (CB); Marcelene Hardy 172 (CB), 112 (CB).


David Jones called the class back leading 507t (CB) and 82 (CB). Committee appointments were made as follows: Nominations Committee—Curtis Jones, Kris Wiggins, and Kristie Powell; Memorial Committee—Gaylon Powell and Robert Vaughn. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 280 (CB), 297 (CB); Sonny Erwin 505 (CB), 464 (CB); Robert Vaughn 227 (CB), 504t (CB).

The memorial lesson was conducted. Robert Vaughn led 343 (CB) for the following sick and shut-ins: Mr. and Mrs. H.T. Parris, Jim Foreman, Sallie Foreman, E.W. Elms, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Doris Hanks, Leo Stanley, Mary Stanley, Chuck Self, Marion Grant, Molly Appleberry, Mr. and Mrs. C.B. Anderson, Azalee Barnett, Berta Smith, Mary Ruth Mallory, and Bill Aplin.

Gaylon Powell led 502 for the following deceased: Lawson Smith, A.A. Smith, Jr., Wanda Jean Palmer Garner, and Hazel Kim—Texas; Bud Oliver, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, and C.T. Williams—Alabama; Eva Padgett—Florida. Leon Ballinger closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Cheryl Foreman led 486 (CB) and 478 (CB). Jerry Gardner offered the noon prayer.


David Jones called the afternoon session to order by leading 72 (CB) and 63 (CB). Leaders: Charles Whitmer 147t, 49b; Tina Walston 573 (CB), 571 (CB); Ron Ryan 174 (CB), 501 (CB); Margaret Rounsavall 137 (CB), 189 (CB); Charity Vaughn 468 (CB), 569b (for Brian Sears); Myrl Jones, David Jones, Curtis Jones, and Debbie Wallace 300 (CB); Tammy Powell 553 (CB); Gaylon Powell 524 (CB); Judy Hughes 522 (CB); Rick Foreman 273 (CB).

In a business session, The Treasurer reported that all expenses were met. The Nomination Committee gave their report as follows: Chairman—Curtis Jones; Vice Chairman—Rick Foreman; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Treasurer—Barbara Smith; Assistant Treasurer—Sue Utz; Chaplin—David Jones.


Kris Wiggins brought the class back together by leading 30b (CB) and 39 (CB) (by request). Leaders: Kristie Powell 543 (CB); Marcelene Hardy 572 (CB); Sonny Erwin 493 (CB); Robert Vaughn 482 (CB); Cheryl Foreman 448 (CB); Charles Whitmer 410 (CB); Tina Walston, Owen Stephenson, and Shirley Smith 45t (CB); Ron Ryan 551; Charity Vaughn 56t; Sonya Kirkham 229 (CB); Peggy Ray 40 (CB).

Announcements were made. David Jones led 62 (CB), and offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—David Jones; Vice Chairman—Curtis Jones; Secretary—Tammy Powell