Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Civic Center, Henderson, Texas

August 10-11, 2013

Saturday, August 10

The East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Civic Center in Henderson, Texas, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Sam Craig leading 31t. The opening prayer was offered by Robert Vaughn.

Leaders: Sam Craig 75; Stanley Smith 155; Tim Jones 120; Janie Short 112; Leon Ballinger 217; Vickie Cook 335; Karen Willard 498; Rebecca Over 464; Eddie Huckaby 277; Jane Goforth 367; Dale Redmon, Jr. 507b; Ester Huckaby 505; Buddy Ballinger 377t; Gary Rogan 300; Robert Handel 583; Wayne Jones 76b; Mike Hinton 400; Tommie Spurlock 516; Rodney Ivey 558; Ben Brown 132; Tim McClain 73t; Reed Coates 133; Ryan Ross 313; Jerry Ryan 274t; B.F. McLemore 522; Lloyd Wright 148; Richard Ivey 383.

Mayor Pat Brack made remarks, and welcomed the singers to Henderson.


The class was called back to order by Sam Craig leading 87. Leaders: Cassie Allen 242; Crystal Meadows 99; Ron Bernucho 463; John Carter Cook 168; Judy Caudle 497; Linda Booker 39; Robert Chambless 32t; Jackson Owen 572; Aubrey Barfield 494; Lauren Owen and Abby Huckaby 146; Sonny Erwin 488; Brody Ross 78; Judy Chambless 142; Cornelia Stanton 573; Steve Helwig 409; Riley Owen 40; Shannan Guinn 220; Ainsley Ross 99.


Sam Craig brought the class to order by leading 57. Leaders: Sarah Huckaby 98; Joan Smith 47b; Silas Huckaby 559; Diane Ross 434; LuAnn Thomas 587; Kristie Powell 140; Susan Cherones 392; Michele Curran 183; Ben Copenhaver 266t; Bruce Coates 571; Billy Huckaby 543b; Gaylon Powell 196; Morris Nelms 28t; Charlie Soape 127; Scott Curran 192; Rick Foreman 508; Tammy Powell 137; Donald Ross 591; Baron Powers 239.


Sam Craig led 145t to bring the class to order. Leaders: Cheryl Foreman with friends, Brenda and Frances 478; Sonny Huckaby 450; Liz Owen 212; Ron Ryan 535t; Tom Owen 417; Catherine Rogan 299; Jeb Owen 96; Bill Bailey 121; Beverly Coates 514; David Rousseau 447t; Kyle Hearn and Tina Friesen 68t; Robert Vaughn 61; John Morris 275b; Bridgett Kennedy 276.

Sam Craig led 45t as the closing song. Sonny Huckaby offered the closing prayer.

Saturday night, August 10

A meal of homemade Tex-Mex was enjoyed by approximately 50 singers at the Henderson Civic Center. After everyone had eaten, the group gathered together and sang hymns from The Harp of Ages.

Sunday, August 11

The Sunday session of the East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was brought to order by Sam Craig leading 553. Gary Rogan offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Sam Craig 430; Tim Jones 63; Rebecca Over 477; Leon Ballinger and Buddy Ballinger 489; Ryan Ross 406; Karen Willard 552; Eddie Huckaby 331b; Findley Ross 401; Stanley Smith 203; Jane Goforth 95t; Angela Myers 414; Ron Bernucho 449; Wayne Jones 448; Rodney Ivey 567; Tommie Spurlock 269; Judy Caudle 355; Dale Redmon, Jr. and Cassie Allen 540; Silas Huckaby 268; Sarah Huckaby 442t.


The class was brought to order by Sam Craig leading 395b. Leaders: Richard Ivey 504b; Aubrey Barfield 240; Shannan Guinn 270; Robert Handel 195; Ainsley Ross 571; Ainslie Allen 142; Cornelia Stanton 171; Steve Helwig 389t; Abby Huckaby and Lauren Owen 40; Susan Cherones 173; Bridgett Kennedy 38t; Brody Ross 146; Robert Chambless 72; Billy Huckaby 138t; Judy Chambless 29t; Mike Hinton and Wayne Jones 544; Beverly Coates 416b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Tom Owen leading 344. Gaylon Powell read the list of names of the deceased as follows: John Russell, Melba Owen, Elder Anthony Blevins, Ronald Baker, John Lowe, and D.J. Burks—Texas; Jeff Sheppard, Willard Wright, Bud Oliver, Charles Wright, and Lessie Reed—Alabama; Evelyn Steinruck—Pennsylvania; Eva Padgett—Florida; Margie Neal, Lars Ivy, Ann Wall Rodriques—California; Mike Dunn and Clayton Ezell—Tennessee. Gaylon Powell led 48t in their memory.

John Morris read the list of names of the sick and homebound as follows: Myrl Jones, Marion Grant, Carlene Griffin, Rufus Burks Crawford, Bill Aplin, Shelbie Sheppard, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Adelaide Vaughn, Wilburn Ellison, Betty Wright, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Doris Hanks, Allene Huckaby, and Elsie Moon. John led 174 in their honor. Donald Ross closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Bill Bailey 581b; Rick Foreman 273; Tammy Powell 95b; Donald Ross 284; Jeb Owen and Stanley Smith 210.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Sam Craig leading 378.

Leaders: Janie Short 200; Baron Powers 79; Cheryl Foreman 486; Cassie Allen 380t; Catherine Rogan 128; Liz Owen 383; Ben Copenhaver 147; Ron Ryan 201; Crystal Meadows 416t; Kristie Powell and Gaylon Powell 131t; Sonny Erwin 464; Diane Ross 332; Michele Curran 67; Joan Smith 225t; Bruce Coates 444t; Jackson Owen 159; Gaylon Powell 276; Morris Nelms 365; Scott Curran 384; Riley Owen 58; Gary Rogan 54t; Tom Owen and Rodney Ivey 465; Robert Vaughn 368t; David Rousseau 84; Charlie Soape 44; John Morris 31t; Cheyenne Ivey and Ainsley Ross 511b; Rebecca Over 422t; Angela Myers 108b.

Announcements were made. The secretary announced that 336 people from 10 states and 1 country attended the singing. There were 83 leaders, who led 159 songs.

Sam Craig led 108t as the closing song. Bruce Coates offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts