Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Garden State Singing Convention

Montclair Friends Meetinghouse, Upper Montclair, New Jersey

Saturday, May 18, 2013

The 21st annual Garden State Convention was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Gina Balestracci leading 49b. Lamar Matthew offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Susan Bingham 28b; Claire Simon 66; Leon Pulsinelle 141; Terry Ryan 496; Rachel Speer 276; Michael Kaye 480; Dean Jens 545; Charlotte Ehrman 113; Douglas Fower 112; Nancy Britton 309; Lynne Hoyt 108t; Lamar Matthew 35; Eileen Metzger 108b; Laura Densmore 313t; Harry Scott 313b; Jean Seiler 312b; Aldo Ceresa 300; Barbara Swetman 30t; Stephen Hoyt 68b; Dennis Leipold 192; Barbara Hohenstein 495; Kevin Griffin Moreno 157; Paula Picton 546; Thom Metzger 216.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Gina Balestracci; Vice Chairman—Susan Bingham; Treasurer—Steve Hoyt; Arranging Officer—Laura Densmore; Chaplain—Lamar Matthew; Secretary—Claire Simon; Assistant Secretary—Barbara Swetman.


Michael Kaye called the class back to order by leading 72b. Leaders: Lori Cabirac 162; Dick Levine 102; Cory Noel 148; Doron Henkin 500; Jessica Keyes 377; Guy Bankes 311; Roland Hutchinson 254; Hal Kunkel 144; Stephen Hoyt 323b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Gina Balestracci, who read the following names of sick and shut-ins: Annie Dawson, Chelsea Balestracci, Donna Abrahams, Betty Baumgartner, Audrey Wiscera, Paul Silberman, Skip Trout, Keith (no last name given), and Ron Bornick. She led 430 in their honor.

Gina then read the names of the following deceased: Dean Drummond, Paul Baumgartner and Norman Thorn—New Jersey; Dennis Cinelli, Jean Hanss, Elaine O’Brien, Louis Roseberg, Joe Goldberg, and Shirley Fisher—New York; Dr. Albert Smolover—Pennsylvania; Barbara Holt-Littlejohn—Florida; Bud Oliver—Alabama. She led 122 in memory of those named. Lamar Matthew closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Lynne Hoyt 510; Claire Simon 472; Harry Scott 94; Eileen Metzger 68t; Terry Ryan 454; Charlotte Ehrman 365; Michael Kaye 86; Gina Balestracci 180. Lamar Matthew offered a blessing for the noon meal.


Gina Balestracci called the class back to order by leading 127. Leaders: Douglas Fower 183; Bruce Ward 87; Jade Levine 335; Julia Seidenstein 39t; Elsa Phemayotin 106; Jeff Gauthier 236; Nancy Britton 477; Dean Jens 174; Jean Seiler 273; Aldo Ceresa 572; Rachel Speer 126; Dennis Leipold 532; Laura Densmore 549; Kevin Griffin Moreno 447; Barbara Hohenstein 553; Doron Henkin 556; Susan Bingham 340; Lori Cabirac 315; Thom Metzger 29b.

Announcements were made. Gina Balestracci offered the resolutions, and reported that expenses had been met.

Leaders: Kevin Griffin Moreno 228; Eileen Metzger 76b; Jessica Keyes 95; Barbara Swetman 383; Thom Metzger 448t.

Closing announcements were made. Assistant Secretary Barbara Swetman reported that 86 songs were led by 38 leaders, with 53 singers in attendance from 7 states.

Gina Balestracci, Susan Bingham, and Jean Seiler led 62 as the closing song. Lamar Matthew offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Gina Balestracci; Vice Chairman—Susan Bingham; Secretary—Claire Simon