Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jones Memorial Singing (Cooper Book)

Cool Springs Primitive Baptist Church, Opp, Alabama

Saturday, April 6, 2013

The annual Jones Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Cool Springs Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the first Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Mike Jones leading 274t and 36b. Adrian Nall offered the opening prayer. Ken Kelley directed the introductory lesson leading 108t, 572, and 497.

Leaders: Hubert Nall 84; Danny Creel 292b; Cindy Tanner 522; Scott Kennedy 38t; Bill Hogan 555; Ann Jett 54t; Claude Nall 501; Voncile Nall 507b; Steve Pearce 587; B.M. Smith 559; Wanda Capps 505; Nate Green and Norma Green 443; Richard Mauldin 100; Wanda Sasser 358; Butch White 293b; Elsie Moon 414; Ken Tate 511b.


The class was called back to order by Tim Jones leading 120. Leaders: Nicole Bowman 85; Ernie Cockcroft 553; Aubrey Barfield 404; Kathy Folsom 218; Tommie Spurlock 156; Nancy Hogan 464; Dewayne Hawthorne 398b; Ryan Bowman 268t; Nora Kirkland 405; Larry Shaw 478; Janice Gardner 380t; Adrian Nall 484; Linda Westbrook 229.


Wayne Jones called the class back to order by leading 99. Leaders: Brian Kelley 112; Shirley Sasser 28b; Chip Westbrook 451; Lera Ellison 395b; Michael Jones 384; Wynette Smith 49b; Lloyd Jones and Loretta Jones 45t, 463; Ed Bass 447t; Billy Kelley 491. Mike Jones led 369, and Danny Creel offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The class sang 96. Mike Jones led 159 as the afternoon session began. Leaders: Victoria Aplin 76b; Joe Nall 211; Tammy Blue 580; Rhonda Harrison 573; Bill Aplin 584; Donna Bowden 145b; Wayne Jones, Connor Tillman, Avery Tillman, and Amberly Tillman 500; Doris Joners 489; Tim Jones 363; Jill Jones 63; Cynthia Sasser 58; Cathy Parker 144; John Kelley 282; Hubert Nall 287; Danny Creel, Cindy Tanner, Ann Jett, and Wanda Capps 355; Scott Kennedy 518; Claude Nall 341; Voncile Nall and Adrian Nall 450; Steve Pearce 72; B.M. Smith 73t; Nate Green and Norma Green 418; Richard Mauldin 442t; Butch White 31t; Elsie Moon 455b; Ken Tate 575; Nicole Bowman 543; Kathy Folsom 143; Dewayne Hawthorne 339; Barbara Jones 277; Tim Jones and Toby Blair 413; Dewayne Hawthorne 108t.

Mike Jones led 331t as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Virgil Sasser.

Chairman—Mike Jones; Vice Chairman—Wayne Jones; Secretary—Barbara Jones