Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Convention,
Spring Session (Cooper Revision)

McMahan, Texas

March 30-31, 2013

Saturday, March 30

The 113th annual Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Bill Bailey leading 108t. He welcomed those who came from near and far to sing with us. Prayer was offered by Elder Sonny Huckaby.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bill Bailey; Vice Chairman—Jeb Owen; Secretaries and Arranging Committee—Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates; Memorial Committee—Billy Huckaby and Kevin Powell.

Leaders: Bill Bailey 108b; Jeb Owen 277; Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates 155; Billy Huckaby 383; Vickie Cook 293b; Scott Curran 98; Lauren Owen 401; Leon Ballinger 137; Carter Cook 142; Cheryl Foreman 101b; Brody Ross 78; Al Rogers 63; Silas Huckaby 421; Janie Short 408; Ainsley Ross 508; Robert Vaughn 589; Jackson Owen 32t; Rick Foreman 163b; Riley Owen 40; Jonathan Pendleton 393; Steve Cackley 506; Laura Densmore 269; Chris Cotter 464; Marilyn Murata 229; Matt Wells 138t.


The second morning session began with Jeb Owen leading 31t. Leaders: Kyle Hearn 300; Findley Ross 45t; Elizabeth Stoddard 45b; Daniel Hunter 116; Karen Willard 195; Garrett Powell 268t; Charles Whitmer 587; Alexa Gilmore 76b; Chris Noren 514; Evelyn Lamb 140; Bob Schinske 183; Jo Pendleton 447t; Hal Eisen 505; Carol Huang 58; Stanley Smith 212; Priscilla Wiggins 485; Ted Mercer 378b; Amy Peveto 463; Charlie Obert 314; Diane Ross 434; Kevin Barrans 287; Tamara Harris 590; Eric Johnson 440b; Jon Giles 552; Crystal Meadows 522; David Lee 68t.

A business meeting was held. Since Jeb Owen will move to the office of Chairman, nominations were requested for Vice Chairman. Billy Huckaby was nominated and elected by acclamation. Nominations were requested for Secretary. Bruce and Beverly Coates were re-elected by acclamation. A prayer was offered before the noon meal.


Jeb Owen opened the afternoon session by leading 73t. Leaders: Robert Stoddard 309; Craig Averill 81; Katie Mahoney and Rich Lee 220; Chris Adams 288; Steve Helwig 271t; Ryan Ross 404; Cassie Allen 450; Chris Wiggins 30b; Tollie Lee 164; Donald Ross 591; Ron Ryan 515; Sonny Erwin 199; Brennen Leigh 319; B.P. Herrington 83t; Jessica Garris 77t; Kevin Powell 543; Ryan Young 414; Olivia Powell 106; J.T. Hairetchmack 239.


Billy Huckaby led 101t to open the second afternoon session. Leaders: Tammy Powell 217; Dan Velleman 335; Linda Booker 38t; Gaylon Powell and Kristie Powell 232, 235; Catherine Rogan 196; Ben Copenhaver 592; Sonny Huckaby 400; Michele Curran 67; Reed Coates 559; Martha Aiken and John Baker 299; Gary Rogan 567; Sarah Huckaby 356; Tom Owen and David Lee 95b; Vivian Rogan 47b; Liz Owen 558; Zach Rogan 99; Greg Bowles and Amanda Bowles 168.

Jeb Owen led 553 as the closing song. The day was closed with prayer offered by David Lee.

Sunday, March 31

The Sunday session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Jeb Owen leading 336t. He welcomed everyone for a second day of singing. Prayer was offered by Stanley Smith.

Leaders: Jeb Owen 60; Billy Huckaby 148; Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates 171; Gary Rogan 330t; Sarah Huckaby 478; Lauren Owen 401; Sonny Erwin 464; Ainsley Ross 299; Amanda Bowles 68t; Silas Huckaby and Abby Huckaby 146; Kristie Powell 273; Jackson Owen 572; Priscilla Wiggins 444t; Garrett Powell 376; Jane Goforth 119; Carter Cook 169; Diane Ross 365; Rick Foreman 268b; Steve Cackley 520; Riley Owen 155; Chris Noren 96.


Billy Huckaby led 31b to bring the class together. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 507b; Marilyn Murata 571; Robert Stoddard 54t; Carol Huang 38t; Ted Mercer 357.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Billy Huckaby and Kevin Powell. Billy Huckaby read the following names of the sick and shut-ins: Chris Holley, Skip Trout, John Harju, John Kelso, Myrl Jones, Lawson Smith, Junior and Marie Smith, Bess Fitzgerald, Bud Oliver, Fumie Murata, Shisue Sugimoto, John Shaffer, and Fran McPherson. He led 283 in remembrance of them.

Kevin Powell read the following list of the deceased: Shirley Blundell, Tanne Ryland, Laura Williamson, Marie Smith, Father Ronald Baker—Texas; Alicia Kennedy—Michigan; Harrison Creel—Alabama; Gaynell Cayton (Mike Hinton’s mother-in-law)—North Carolina; Nancy Wyllie—Pennsylvania; Margie Neal, Maria Topete, Freddy Ramirez, Olloff Shipstead—California; Jean Shaffer—Colorado. Kevin led 285t in their memory. Gaylon Powell led 343, and made comments about the passing of our fellow singers and friends. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Craig Averill.

Leaders: Alexa Gilmore 35; Chris Cotter 411; Elizabeth Stoddard 176b; Daniel Hunter 345b; Cassie Allen 355; Chris Adams 61; Karen Willard 486; David Lee 176t; Laura Densmore 482; Steve Helwig 511t; Hal Eisen 581; Craig Averill 47b; Janie Short 453t; Jon Giles 540; Cheryl Foreman 465. Thanks for the food were offered by Kris Wiggins.


Jeb Owen opened the afternoon session by leading 416t. Leaders: Greg Bowles 210; Kevin Barrans 563; Charlie Obert 217; Ainslie Allen 76b; Evelyn Lamb 41; Bob Schinske 427; Amy Peveto 500; Matt Wells 203; Tollie Lee and Daniel Hunter 544; Kris Wiggins and Craig Averill 276; Tammy Powell 216; Donald Ross 373; Olivia Powell 132; Ryan Ross 402; Katie Mahoney 145b; Ben Copenhaver 184t; Tamara Harris 338; Bill Bailey 150; Rich Lee 422b. Announcements were made.

Leaders: Vivian Rogan 387; Zach Rogan 220; Liz Owen 189; Sonny Huckaby 133; Martha Aiken 45t; Scott Curran 470; Catherine Rogan 36b; Tom Owen 442t; John Baker 110; Michele Curran 522.

The officers led “Blissful Hope” (Good Old Songs) as the closing song. Tom Owen offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jeb Owen; Vice Chairman—Billy Huckaby; Secretaries—Bruce and Beverly Coates