Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Florida State Convention (Cooper Edition)

Holiday Inn, Panama City, Florida

December 1-2, 2012

Saturday, December 1

The 45th session of the Florida State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Tommie Spurlock leading 36b and 203. The opening prayer was offered by Johnny Lee.

Leaders: Mary Whitehurst 145t; Aubrey Barfield 186; Victoria Aplin 31b; Jewell Rowland 341; Johnny Lee 46; Bill Hogan 187; Robert Chambless 108t; Amy Lee 31t; Robert Vaughn 210; J.C. Rutledge 128; Kathy Folsom 507b; B.M. Smith 38t; Ken Kelley 86; Shannan Guinn 220. Brenda Chafin and Stanley Smith were appointed as the Memorial Committee.


Tommie Spurlock led 63 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Steve Helwig 581t; Tim Taylor 54t; Deborah Brogden 385t; Gosia Perycz 589b; Ann Webb 288; Hubert Nall 99; Brenda Chafin 140; David Lee 65; Sarah Kahre 98; Velton Chafin 336b; Pat Callahan 511t.


The singing continued with Tommie Spurlock leading 433. Leaders; Russ Schulz 498b; Nate Green and Norma Green 380t; Wayne Jones 464; Beverly Dayton 227; Riley Lee 594; Wynette Smith 49b; Tim Lanham 274t; Reba Windom 505; Ross Brand 419. Tommie Spurlock led 369, and Tim Jones offered grace before the noon meal.


The afternoon session opened with Tommie Spurlock leading 218. Leaders: Aubrey Barfield 64 (for his brother, who wasn’t able to attend); Robert Walker 501; Janet King 270; Ernest Cockcroft 553; Bill Aplin 159; Nancy Hogan 573; Morgan Bunch 516; Karen Willard 196; Stanley Smith 235; Joe Nall 211; Sharon DuPriest and Daphene Causey 434, 229; Adrian Nall 484; Alice Bejnar and Tor Bejnar 55.


The class was called back to order by Wayne Jones leading 76b. Leaders: Tim Jones 120; Judy Chambless 244; Chip Westbrook 563; Sue Bunch 421; John Kelley 405; Geraldine Sharpton 463; Ken Sundberg 116; Voncil Nall 283t; Frank Strickland 100; Alice Sundberg 58; Linda Westbrook 465; Chris Noren 393t; Loretta Jones and Lloyd Jones 45t.

Announcements were made. Tommie Spurlock led 95b as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Tim Lanham.

Sunday, December 2

The Sunday session of the Florida State Convention was called to order by Tommie Spurlock leading 31b. The opening prayer was offered by Velton Chafin.

Leaders: Tommie Spurlock 146; Mary Whitehurst 591; Aubrey Barfield 306; Jewell Rowland 340; Victoria Aplin 417; Billy Kelley 100; Velton Chafin 464; Ann Webb 186; Pat Callahan 540; Brain Kelley 505; Reba Windom 559; J.C. Rutledge 541; Brenda Chafin 450; Chris Noren 336t; Sharon DuPriest and Daphene Causey 200, 137.


The singing continued with Tommie Spurlock leading 191. Leaders: Stanley Smith 288; B.M. Smith 573; Geraldine Sharpton 372.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Stanley Smith and Brenda Chafin. Stanley Smith recognized the sick and shut-ins, and Brenda Chafin led 270. The deceased were recognized, and Stanley and Brenda led 418 in their memory. The memorial service was closed with prayer offered by Stanley Smith.

Leaders: Ty Peel 332; Sue Bunch 268b; Jerry DeLoach 112; Nate Green and Norma Green 44; Judy Chambless 29b; Robert Vaughn 514; Kathy Folsom 85; Johnny Lee 96; Nancy Hogan 84; Robert Chambless 72; Gosia Perycz 204; Ross Brand 189; Hubert Nall 192; Riley Lee 269; Steve Helwig 195. Robert Vaughn offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Tommie Spurlock leading 81. Leaders: Bill Hogan 520; Voncile Nall 507b; Bill Aplin 567; Ken Sundberg 474; Wynette Smith 122; Morgan Bunch 516; Lloyd Jones and Loretta Jones 463; Ernest Cockcroft 553; Joe Nall 171; Margie Smith 507t; Karen Willard 590; Tim Jones 273; Shannan Guinn 220; Wayne Jones 156; Beverly Dayton 334; Alice Sundberg 440b; Kevin Evins and Dana Evins 155, 38b; Chris Noren 235.

The officers were appointed, and those who served this year were thanked for their contribution to help make this singing a success. Next year’s officers are as follows: Chairman—Mary Whitehurst; 1st Vice Chairman—Aubrey Barfield; 2nd Vice Chairman—Bill Hogan. Announcements were made.

The officers led 527 as the closing song. Bill Aplin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Tommie Spurlock; Vice Chairman—Mary Whitehurst; Secretary-Jewell Rowland