Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Tennessee State Convention

Second Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Five Points, Tennessee

October 13-14, 2012

Saturday, October 13

The 18th annual session of the Tennessee State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at Second Creek Primitive Baptist Church on the second Sunday in October and Saturday before. The Saturday evening session from the B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Revision, was called to order by Tim Reynolds leading 50t (CB). The opening prayer was offered by Ron Harper.

Leaders: Tim Reynolds 335 (CB); Eddie Mash 567 (CB), 464 (CB); Ron Harper 52t (CB), 505 (CB); Darrell Swarens 572 (CB), 484 (CB); Sara Beasley 488b (CB), 60 (CB); Mike Hinton 478 (CB), 544 (CB); Marilyn Burchett 229 (CB), 571 (CB); Judy Whiting 507b (CB), 72 (CB); Hubert Nall 84 (CB), 463 (CB); John Ramsey 161 (CB), 136 (CB); Chris Brown 95b (CB), 30t (CB); Sandie Scott 511t (CB), 392 (CB); Michelle Cull 500 (CB), 96 (CB); Richard Mauldin 36b (CB), 45t (CB); Steve Miller 63 (CB), 155 (CB).

Richard Mauldin, Carol Davis, and Tim Reynolds led 358. The closing prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

Sunday, October 14

The Sunday session of the Tennessee State Convention was called to order by Tim Reynolds leading 59. Darrell Swarens offered the opening prayer.

Song selections were from the 1991 Edition of the Sacred Harp. Leaders: Tim Reynolds 145t; Eddie Mash 28b, 37b; Darrell Swarens 47b, 111b (in memory of Harrison Creel); Sandie Scott 512, 408; David Carlton 95, 77t; Larry Ballinger 77b, 76t; Sara Beasley 145b, 318.


The class was brought back together by Eddie Mash leading 56t.

Leaders: Judy Whiting 492, 354t; Steve Miller 354b, 178; Hubert Nall 566, 299; Earl Ballinger 161, 176t; Angela Myers 155, 89; Laurens Blankers 72b, 334; Wanda Capps 176b, 76b; Richard Mauldin 143, 35 (in memory of Harrison Creel).


Tim Reynolds called the class back to order by leading 85. A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Eddie Mash; Secretary—Sandie Scott; Arranging Officer—Eddie Mash.

Leaders: Linton Ballinger 343, 385b; Judy Caudle 434 (for Gordon Wilkinson), 119 (for Clayton Ezell); Steve Adams and Richard Mauldin 378t, 101t; Chris Brown 102, 229; Michelle Cull 128; Michelle Cull and Carol Davis 168; Mike Hinton 340, 480; Gravis Ballinger 49t, 34b. Richard Mauldin offered the prayer before the meal.


Tim Reynolds brought the class back together by leading 148. Leaders: Chris Brown 34b; Kermit Adams 426b, 426t; Marilyn Burchett 335, 294; Margaret Keeton 336, 208.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Mike Hinton and Richard Mauldin. Mike spoke and led 146 in honor of the following sick and homebound: Willodean Barton, Johnnie Chafin, Velton Chafin, Clayton Ezell, Bea Gilmore, Josie Hyde, Alan Jackson, Sammie Oliver, Bud Oliver, Curtis Owen, Tony Parkinson, Lessie Reed, S.T. Reed, Chris Sugden, Cath Tyler, and Gordon Wilkinson.

Richard Mauldin spoke and led 339 in memory of the following deceased: Harrison Creel, Earnie Jett, Imogene Nelms, Cecil Sanders, and Wynell Sanders—Alabama; Gordon Corrick, Brenda Grimshaw, Harold Newell, Joe Reynolds, and Malcolm Robertson—United Kingdom; John Merritt—Mississippi; Lonnie Rogers—Georgia; Julietta Haynes—Tennessee. Hubert Nall offered prayer to close the memorial session.

Leaders: Chis Brown 277; Judy Whiting 460; Mike Hinton 456; Tim Reynolds and the Ezell family 358; Darrell Swarens 507 (for Josie Hyde); Michelle Cull 82t; Hubert Nall 347; Wanda Capps 216; Earl Ballinger 203; Linton Ballinger 212; Richard Mauldin 43 (for Josie Hyde); Judy Caudle 472; Sara Beasley and Karla Parker 235, 63; Kermit Adams 99; Steve Adams 129.

Announcements were made. Tim Reynolds led 30t as the closing song. Linton Ballinger offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Eddie Mash; Secretary—Sandie Scott